Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Still awake about 6am - 2009-07-10

I'm grateful for: plans taking shape; hopeful hope; the new stove - due to be delivered finally while I am gone.

It's 5:25am and I've been up all night again. Right now I'm taking it that it is preparing me for the time zone change in just a few days. I can't sleep, I might as well make the best of it.

More details have been settled. Interview with a person from the crematorium was much more painless than I would have thought. RS found and decided to purchase us one way tickets to Las Vegas at a ridiculously cheap rate. I've never dealt with the new economy flying rules, apparently for instance the basket on RS's walker can only go along if it is treated as a full item of checked baggage, which means she can't bring a suitcase without paying for it. I don't know what the carry-on rules are at all, my intention is to get by with only one carry on bag. I should be so lucky.

We have a more complete plan of what we want to do, how, and when. Obviously it is all up to Hashem (man plans, Gd laughs), but it is good to have a sense of an outline to this previously formless venture.

I have tickets round trip from Israel to the States and back. I have a one way ticket from Boston to Las Vegas. I have plans to shop in Boston, and also to sell my rock there - I hope. Nervous about that, really. I have plans for returning back east, although those are more vague, and plans for helping out D1 a bit. It is good to be able to contemplate doing that.

I'm sweating, literally melting here in my salon. Unbelievably miserable doesn't begin to cover it. For whatever reason the almost constant winds have died down, leaving us just airless and sweating in the heat. Boston should be a nice break. Las Vegas won't be a surprize.

Besides trip planning I went grocery shopping. And talked on the phone. That's it. Grocery shopping with just D3 after things had cooled off just a bit from the unbearable heat of the day was pleasant. Also, I managed to walk all over the supermarket without difficulty. Very good.

Dogs have been in and out. Kitten was in and out, until D3 took Kitten off to her bedroom with her. Cats Willow and Sprite have been in and out. S1 has been in and out. There is a reason I have been awake all night, and it's not just about insomnia.

Today there is a little bit of grocery shopping to do. And I WANT to take S3 to the beach. Please, Hashem! It's really a small wish. S2 is coming home from base and is hoping to meet us in Ashkelon for the beach trip. D2 is also coming down, and may be able to get to Ashkelon for a ride home after the beach trip. Then, of course, the car is too full. Life is like that.

It will be my last shabbos before the trip to the states - big event in my life. S2 seems completely unconcerned. D2 isn't terribly impressed. *sigh* What it is to be young and blase and immortal.

That's about it. I'm going to crawl into bed when I finish burning the last of very many backup disks. I always make backups of movies. The movie companies wouldn't approve, I'm sure, but having paid a ridiculous price in too many cases for a disk or tape, I am not going to just wing it in a household of thoughtless males, heedless young children, crumbs, dogs, and you-name-it.

Whee.

Okay, I'm off.

I'm listening to the disk burner, the cocks crowing, and S3's story tape, which has continued to run virtually uninterrupted all night. How come I didn't notice it?

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06