Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Trying something - 2009-08-15

I'm grateful for: happy dog sounds; not needing to go anywhere or do anything; all sorts of good things this week.

Staring at the blank box. I have been (and continue to be) so busy I haven't been able to even make a start. So, I've decided to just type a sentence or two whenever I find myself sitting down here with a moment to type. No brain, perhaps, but a moment.

It's Saturday now. I've got a whole week to catch up on, if I can, but I probably can't. Today I slept until 1am. Not because I was up all night, I fell asleep a little after midnight, then was up for a few hours between three and five in the morning, I think. I really needed the sleep.

Amazingly, I am largely caught up on my email, and reading my buddies here and other (former) d'landers who've migrated elsewhere. I was invited to share recipes, and am looking forward to trying some of the recipes I've gotten back.

***

Next day, I think this is an idea that isn't working, except that it's better than writing nothing? I hope...

It's now Sunday afternoon. It's been a rough-ish day, I've not gotten much of anything done, I'm still not dressed. But everyone has eaten reasonably, the dogs are happy, Kitten spent a couple of hours lying on me purring, kneading, sleeping. I load of laundry made it into the washing machine, another got hung out on the line.

I've fielded just a few phone calls, TH, D2, S2. More than I was up to, to be honest, but a fairly quiet day for telephony around here.

Last week was so busy I didn't write anything about it, so to back up a bit...

Tuesday was FB's birthday party. For his 40th birthday. I won't go into the long and tedious story of everything that went wrong. As a party, it was a bit of a bust by most standards, but by the only one that really counts - FB was satisfied. Happy even. That is so unusual it is worthy of comment. He said he'd never had a birthday party like it, which is a sad comment all by itself. Friends and family (that would be us) met at a restaurant in J'lem.

Afterwards we went to the Israel Museum, which was mostly closed for renovations. There were about a half dozen galleries with random works of art. Some of them were engaging. There was a tour by a woman who irritated me incredibly, but had some worthwhile things to tell us about the art we looked at. I said I wouldn't complain, so I'll leave it at that, like I said, FB was happy, and it was HIS party.

We left the house well before noon and got home before 11pm (I think). A lo-ong day. S3 and S1 and TH and I went. S3 wasn't unhappy about it, which is really good considering how much time was spent in the car and how late we got home.

Wednesday I wasn't good for anything, could barely move, and we mostly laid around the house. In the evening we went out to do grocery shopping as there was no bread or juice (among many other things) in the house.

Thursday was the high water day for me. We went to a water park. There were four (I think) swimming pools, many slides, a kind of balloon ride for kids S3's age, many shaded grassy places, decent-ish bathrooms. We stayed for over three hours, and I came home almost completely immobile, but satisfied. I swam in the large pool (larger than olympic size, but I haven't any idea how to say beyond that), managing to do a few laps despite many children, and people who launched themselves in my path (even though they could have clearly seen me coming) repeatedly.

I ran into a problem, somewhat new to me - not new to me, it's been a problem for years, but new in that I really want to figure out how to overcome it now that I have the opportunity to swim more than once a summer or so. My belly has gotten large enough that lying face down, my legs have trouble staying in the water properly. Is that silly? I don't know many other very large people, leave alone any that swim, I've never heard anyone else mention it. I primarily swam sidestroke to cope with it, but I prefer to do a breaststroke and it was *really* unmanageable. I don't know if anyone else has heard of this sort of problem or would have any ideas?

Swimming a length of the pool was more than a lap in an olympic pool, but I don't know how it compares. Going across, as I did a few times because there were kids also swimming across the pool, was shorter than an olympic length, but longer than any ordinary pool-width. I'd love to be able to swim in that pool without all the other people sometime. I don't even know if it's possible.

It was truly a delightful day. Swam, read, swam, ate, read, swam, read, swam a bit more. I did a teeny bit of work with S3 and D3 in the water, but I'm selfish, I am there for me to swim, not to help them. I'll work on being better next time.

There WILL be a next time.

TH has suggested he can drop us off there, and pick us up later, so he can still get work done and we can spend days at the pools. Sounds good to me. :-)

It's not cheap, but I don't care.

I'd better stop this, I've got to do some stuff (get dressed, for instance) and so some schoolwork with S3.

I'm listening to Green Day: Worry Rock

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06