Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Stuff - 2009-08-17

I'm grateful for: TH being helpful (who'd'a thunk it?); a bit of a break; new comedy programs to watch.

I seem to have gotten past feeling overwhelmed for the moment. I didn't answer twice when S2 phoned. I feel terribly guilty, but I know I did the right thing. He'll literally suck the life out of me if I let him. Not because he means to, but because he's a kid and he's miserable, and who is he going to dump it all on when he's got me? So, it's all for the best, I suppose.

TH spoke to him, and got some information on a ceremony (yes, another one) we are supposed to be at next week. This is a command performance, parents are *required* to be there hours before the ceremony so the officers can meet us. I don't understand this, they used to do home visits, when did they start demanding the parents travel? It's not *too* bad for us, we already live in the south at least, but for soldiers whose parents are further north it is a huge deal. A lot of them will have to take a bus down the day before. I dunno. Maybe they are only doing this to parent who live in the south? I have no clue.

We're going to have to leave the house around 6am. I don't DO 6am. *sigh*

Tomorrow is shaping up to be another over-full day as well. We have to get out the door by 8:30am - I don't do 8:30am very much, either - to drop S3 off at his friend's home in Netivot before driving to J'lem. Actually where we are going isn't in J'lem, is actually before J'lem by the map, but the way we have to drive it we'll go all the way to J'lem and then back a bit. A pain, but safer than getting lost in the hills there.

We'll be coming home with a car full of food, always good, rushing to get back to take D3 to a dr.s appointment. A stupid appointment really. We need an antihistamine for her. We've been doing quite well with an over-the-counter drug, it's like Zyrtec, only there isn't any of this particular drug in the whole country. Impressive, no? For some reason, all production was stopped. Some problem, and I'm sure we're grateful to be protected from whatever it was, but now we have to ask the dr. if there is anything he can give her that is as good as what she's been using. She has a terrible reaction on her hands that she just can't live or function with, and other otc drugs just don't help.

So, ask the dr. for some other drug that might work.

After that things are quiet-ish, unless we arrange to deliver the part of the wholesale order that isn't for us. That would mean a trip back towards J'lem - a whole day in the car. Yum.

S3 is going to get to go to a swimming pool with his friends. It's a religious pool, which means boys and girls never swim together (or maybe girls don't get to swim there at all, I didn't ask). It'll be a nice treat for him, and a day I don't have to worry about him at all. As it happens, I find these particular people to be really comfortable with S3 and vice-versa, a nice treat.

The boys have a new step-mother and step-sister, and from all I can tell they are both really great. I'll know more tomorrow when I will be meeting the step-mom for the first time. She's from France, I believe.

My day really did improve once TH got home. He did a really terrific job of taking over things I couldn't handle, and then made the suggestion of things I could do for fun and to take a load off. All good, except I drank WAY too much Pepsi, which is a big part of why I am awake still at 1:37am.

Okay, I've just put another load of laundry in, and I'm going to try and get some sleep.

I'm listening to Ports of Call: Czechoslovakia - an old-time radio program from 1936. Lots of fun getting a different perspective on places. We sort of take for granted that the way everything is is the way it always was. Well, ... no.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06