Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Better - 2009-09-10

I'm grateful for: things improving a bit; an exercise park; up and moving again.

I really wanted to write an entry yesterday, but I was too tired and lay down - and then lay awake for almost the whole of the night. What was that about?

Anyway, yesterday, after days and days of horrible pain, and even yesterday my guts were a terrible mess, I walked (Walked!!!) to the new exercise park that was just put in, and tried out all of the equipment, and walked home again. It was amazing, and fun. I discovered that I could use on of the pieces - the stair/mountain-climbing type thing - that I would have thought I never could, and absolutely can't use the walking swing or the boat rowing gizmo. They are far too disorienting and I lose all sense of balance. I am pretty pathetic, in bad shape (well, who is suprized?), but still I did whatever I could on each one, and may even go back today if I can. After going to the beach. After shopping. Good gdds, what am I thinking??? :-)

So, it was a good evening. Then, the power went out. All over the moshav. TH and D3 and I went grocery shopping of necessity, then came back home and sat around outside looking up at the stars, and Venus, and really enjoying the dark and the quiet.

It wasn't *so* dark as the moon was over half, and putting a nice glow on everything. The moonlight was blocked by the house, so sitting in front we could see more stars, and just really enjoy the feeling of being in a quiet, peaceful place. A feeling that is just about impossible to get with street lights and the electrical hums that accompany everything. It was, in a lot of ways, like being back in Vermont. The air wasn't as clear of course, and we could hear neighbours outside chatting at their homes on the street, but that didn't detract as much as you might think. It was the peace of just being present - there was nothing else to do because there was nothing else we *could* do, so we just sat and relaxed, chatted and appreciated, for longer than I am typing this here.

I eventually had to go inside because bugs had bitten the back of my right leg, and the itching became unbearable. That used to happen in Vermont, too.

It's very interesting to me that the thing that most defines or controls the sense of peace of a place - at least for me - is electricity. I want Access to electricity, but I don't want it on all the bleeding time. A little peace and quiet isn't too much to ask for, just blessed hard to get in this modern world.

Anyway...

So today we were going to go to the water park, but it doesn't seem like the next right thing to do so instead when I finish this we are off to buy groceries, and a host of other things we need, and are planning on going to the beach later on instead. Far cheaper, and with the exercise park, and cooler temperatures in the evening, I don't have to rely on the swimming for my exercise.

Gosh, is there hope? AM I actually healthier and getting better? I'd really like it to be true, but I've gotten my hopes up too many times in the last 20+ years. So, I'll just try to be grateful for every little thing. Exercising a bit, swimming a bit, walking a bit.

Tomorrow S2 is coming home on leave, which he wasn't going to be doing but now he is. I don't know what this means in terms of the holidays yet, I guess he'll explain it when he gets here. His glasses broke, so tomorrow will be a bit of racing around, trying to get something that works for him before he goes back to the base. At the very least we will order him a new pair so he's got some to trade off.

I forgot to mention, last night S2 told me of a plan he has to get transferred out of the unit that he's in (that he really hates to be in) and into some other area of combat engineering. It should work, so then we just have to pray that he gets something he likes. He doesn't get to choose where he gets transferred to. It's all complicated.

And that's all I can think of, although I'm sure there have been a lot of things that got lost. Ah, well.

Must get going. It's terrifically hot here again. So much for slightly lower temperatures. Hope all y'all are enjoying some lovely late summer/early fall weather.

I'm listening to my stupid fan making that endless clicking that it does.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06