Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Busy, happy, worried, having faith. - 2009-09-17

I'm grateful for: being more active, doing more stuff than I can remember; managing a bit in Hebrew - far from fluent, but not completely hopeless/helpless the last few days; my family, my life, my music, having Hashem on my side.

It feels like it's been a long time since I wrote anything, but it's felt that way before and only been a day or two. I wonder how long? Not worth it right now to go back and check.

I've read a few friends, but haven't much time. It's a good thing. Busy, we rescued a mom and four chicks, plus the clutch of eggs she is still setting on, and that is a real 'we.' I was out there holding random pieces of wood, directing the males (they always go better with some direction it seems). I am in no way fast or coordinated enough to actually catch a chick, but I helped to keep the chicks moving in the right direction as they came out one at a time from the hedge the hid in when we grabbed the mom.

So, chicks, eggs and mom are moved into the small lul. לול. I can't remember how many chicks we have in the large lul, but there are three or four sizes of them in there, along with a random assortment of hens and a couple of roosters. One of the big roosters has taken to sitting on the roof of the lul, where it joins the goat shed. I can't argue, it's a great location, but it does look kind of funny sometimes. NOT a weathervane. ;-)

The holidays are coming, starting Friday. My sister is not coming, at least not any time soon. We put so much money and work into trying to be ready for her, and who knows when she will finally arrive? Dealing with her is like this, and there is no way to explain to anyone who hasn't dealt with her.

She phoned me a couple of days ago because she was worried that if she took a particular kind of aliyah flight I might feel uncomfortable at a celebration. ??? Get on the bl**dy plane already is what I have to say.

Saw the guy who does acupuncture. He said some things that were so out of line, insulting, and just awful that I will have to say something about it the next time I see him. *sigh* I hate having to do this, but if I don't, I'll be complete squirrel-bait, which is no help to my being better, functioning, sanity.

I can't remember, so much has been going on. S3's birthday is coming up. He wants a truly giant stuffed animal for his birthday, and TH and I have been looking for one. I'm not sure they exist in Israel, really. We went to one of the biggest, most central malls in Tel Aviv, and ended up buying a stuffed dog which is nowhere near large enough for what he wants. All the other kids got, at one time or another, a 'special' sometimes quite over-sized stuffed animal for a birthday. S3 is not out of line. It's just that a may have to order one from out of the country, and I have NO money. *sigh* Being broke is no joke.

D2 is coming down for the weekend, for Rosh HaShanah. S2 is 'closing' the holiday, which means he is spending it on base and doing guard duty. I've promised to make a vegetable soup and I don't know if I am up to it, but I have to be, somehow. All I can do is trust Hashem will make it work. *sigh*

I bought two jigsaw puzzles for us to do together for the chag (holiday). One is a giant panda, and already there is much enthusiasm. I couldn't afford the puzzles any more than I can afford anything else. At this point I am actually using credit cards beyond my ability to pay them back. I don't know what to do. It is not good, but, as I said, I have no clue what I can do differently. Once the chagim (holidays) are over, spending will return to 'normal' (I assume/hope) and then I could theoretically start to catch up with the charging I'm doing now, but I don't know if we can make it that long purely on credit.

We need cash for assorted things, like S3's birthday and buying fruit and vegetables at the shuk. The fruit and veg is much more expensive if I buy it at a supermarket, so if I have to buy using credit that's just making things worse.

I know it's been worse than this before. It doesn't make it any less scary, though.

I've been feeling better, but unable to sleep at night. Tonight is one of those nights. If I try to get eight hours' sleep, that means sleeping until past noon. Tomorrow I haven't a lot to do, just grocery shopping (stress!), but I'd really prefer not to sleep the day away.

Random stuff. We're reading the second (ever) Hardy Boys book to S3 at bedtimes now. I have photos and video I intended to put online that may never - at this point it's so beyond the point. I just don't know.

I've watched all of the Mad Men episodes so far. Don't know if I'll watch further, though. I barely have time for important stuff.

TH and I have decided to try to open a makolet (small grocery) here. Everyone says it's possible, it's a good idea, and has suggestions, information, advice, help. It's scary as hell. Don't know what will happen, just working on keeping breathing about it right now.

I'm going to try and get some sleep now. I'll be back sometime.

I'm listening to Fleetwood Mac: Go Your Own Way

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06