Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Monday - 2010-02-09

I'm grateful for: managing to sleep through the hammer drill; Kitten asleep on my bed; S3 sleeping quietly, after a very bad night last night.

John spent a good chunk of the day - Hours - with a hammer drill making holes and channels in the concrete walls for the new plumbing. I don't know how, but I actually dozed through some of it. Considering it was largely going on in the next room, this is not a small achievement.

Our Hebrew teacher, Bracha, came over today. She worked with S3 for about forty minutes, and he is two pages away from finishing his first Hebrew workbook. We talked and read together, it was really good. I don't know how much or how fast I am improving, but I AM improving. I may never be fluent enough to function on my own, but just being able to work at it and make progress feels so good.

Bracha also spent an hour with RS. RS pays for her hours, so I can't really complain, except that Bracha doesn't have that much time and so what she spends with RS she doesn't spend with us. Still, we also don't pay for it. ???

Tomorrow is the shuk, and it looks like I'm not going to be able to go. I am sad about this, but I really have to stay in bed and take care of myself. S**ks , that.

D1's new man, What DO I refer to him as? is coming to terms with being really, truly disabled. It's hard, as any of us who are can tell. There's the doubts (am I really disabled, or just lazy?), and the other doubts (maybe if I just *tried* harder I could), and the other doubts (maybe she's right, and I am just a useless pile of s**t). There the fear - what happens if I become unable to feed myself/care of myself/wipe my own bottom? And the other fears - how will I get money, how will I justify my existence, what will I do if people won't/aren't able to help take care of me?

Anyway, I talked to him for a while this evening. Not much I can do besides share my own experience, assure him that it is possible to live, and be happy, and have a satisfying life even with a non-working body. I didn't say this to him, but it really *is* all about attitude. I also reassured him that as long as he was willing, and had a willing partner, that being disabled is not the end of sex. Oh, these young men! ;-)

There was a funny point when the phones were ringing off the hook. MMF called, and FB, and S2 all at just about the same time. I missed a call from D2 as well, and there were two messages I didn't track down who they were from yet. The second-to-last phone call of the night I practically threw the phone at TH. That was my cell phone, and I was talking to MMF on the VOIP phone at the same time. There is a good reason for not having more than one telephone.

I'm falling over tired, and arms are too heavy to hold up, so perhaps I can write more tomorrow.

I forgot to mention - next-door-neighbour came over to watch a movie with RS. A real romance blossoming, maybe.

I'm listening to the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra / Jonathan Carney cond.: Cantata No. 51 'Jauchzet Gott in allen Landen' BWV51. Bach.

2 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06