Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A good day and AAaarrgghh! - 2010-02-12

I'm grateful for: sleeping cats and dogs; being able to stand up for myself, even though I don't always know if I should; a bath, clean hair, and a good book.

I should be asleep, I want to be asleep, but right now I can't sleep as I am all adrenaline. I've initiated a fight - oh, no, that is not true at all. But I have fired a shot across the bow of someone who was quite definitely getting into my personal space. I was a little bit light and jokey about it, but by the end I was not joking at all, and it showed!

I have nothing against confrontations, but this one has me really scared. Why? 'Cause I don't know what this a**hole is capable of doing. And that's even silly because there is nothing he can do besides throw words at me. He can theoretically poison some other people against me, but it will be up to them to decide which of us is the better bet anyway.

I assume most people know someone who simply can't hear anyone else say *anything* without finding some fault with it? Correcting the word usage, or pointing out how 'this' isn't EXACTLY the correct translation of *that.* That's what this one did, and worse than that he's one of those orthodox men who are so absolutely sure of their superiority to simply every other human being on the planet that everything they say much BY DEFINITION be correct and they don't have to listen to anyone else or even acknowledge their existence.

Particularly females of any description, non-Jews, less-observant-than-they Jews, people who wear different silly clothes than they do, people who wear the wrong sorts of hats, and so forth and so on.

A bit of a splinter up my butt? Not me!

I knew this guy was going to bug me when I first met him, but today he took it upon himself to correct my words and even to make disparaging remarks about words Israeli's use - since Israelis are clearly inferior to his perfection and anything people say here (beit knesset for instance instead of synagogue, a word which after all is Greek!) can be dismissed as inaccurate and irrelevant. Oh, am I angry?

I can't come up with an emoticon for what I want. Rats! ;-)

Okay, well briefly today went well. It was sunny and warm (too warm). We, that is TH, S3, RS and I drove to Be'er Sheva, did the grocery shopping successfully, drove home, built a fire in the back yard, had a cook out plus TH made falafel, read aloud, walked the dogs (that was D3 and S1, actually), I got a bath and now I am clearly not sleeping although it is almost 3am and I am working on it. No - really I am! I just need to do something with all of the adrenaline besides wake up the whole household, dogs and cats included.

Tomorrow, which is later today now, RS and I have appointments with the practitioner of Chinese medicine. There's a little shopping to be done, and D2 is coming home with us for shabbos. Which is all good.

I got a phone call from MMF, but the lines were crap. She's in southwestern Michigan, and I don't know how the weather is there, but I'm guessing it's no better than anyplace else I'm hearing about. Their lines go out all the time whenever there is any sort of inclement weather at all, so in this storm it's only to be expected.

Anyway, that was a whole lot of nothing just 'cause I can't stop typing yet. AAAarrgghh!

I *really* don't want to get into a public spat with this jerk. But there's no possibility of a private spat as he's simply patronizingly write off any and everything I say. Maybe he'll decide *I'm* not worth listening to, and I can pretend he's not there, too?

Standing up for myself is such a pain sometimes. I wish I even knew if I am choosing the right battles. ... Well, Hashem knows. If necessary I can always apologize.

He - his name is Alex - is *such* a jerk.

I'm listening to the fan on my heater.

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06