Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Getting better, getting busier - 2010-02-25

I'm grateful for: homemade hamentaschen, yum!; helping to make my utterly delicious spaghetti sauce; fresh garlic to braid, and braided.

I've been too busy again, so I'm doing all kinds of stuff I haven't written about. Today I made it into the kitchen about supper time, and was able to talk D3 through making some absolutely fabulous spaghetti sauce. She's been frustrated at not knowing how because TH doesn't even bother, he just pretty much dumps a can of crushed tomatoes into a pan, shakes some salt over it and calls it sauce. *sigh*

I hope she will remember. It really is extraordinarily good tomato sauce, as I re-discovered eating it again after more than a year of TH's 'sauce' and stuff from cans and so on.

After supper I sat up for a while and braided garlic. The garlic has just shown up at the shuk for this year. D3 bought some even though it was small - next week or the week after will be really good. I made three braids, one of them a present for FB. Why am I giving him a present? I wish I knew.

As soon as I had gotten the first braid started the phone rang. And rang, and rang, and rang. I braided garlic with the phone pressed between my cheek and my shoulder. It wasn't comfortable - but the phone hadn't rung much all day, so I guess I should be grateful.

I guess I am starting, finally, get to the 'remitting' part of my relapsing/remitting M.S. I still can't do so very much, and I'm never *that* functional, but it is nice to be able to do stuff, even if I can't plan for it. Like helping make supper, washing dishes, going over Hebrew flashcards with S3 and all that.

S2 told me something so horrible I'm not even going to write about it here. I was up all night last night because of it, and now I am in serious prayer mode. Please Hashem keep him safe from harm for as long as he is in this horrible unit with the utterly miserable, incompetent and dreadful commanders. Please, Hashem, get him OUT of there! There is no reason on this earth why he hasn't been transferred already. He NEEDS to be transferred. He has ever RIGHT to a transfer. According to the law, and the army's own rules he should be transferred. Should have been transferred already. Gd forbid - if he should be injured or killed while in this unit, I doubt I could live with myself.

I know that injury and death are some of the risks that soldier run - it's sort of the definition of being a soldier, right? So I can deal with the idea - I'm not happy about it mind, but I can deal with the idea of one of my children being killed in a war or by terrorists or something like that. I CANNOT deal with the thought of one of my children being killed because his commander set him up to be killed.

I know. I'm not the first mother in this situation by a long shot. I know that this is part and parcel of armies. I'm working on breathing. And praying. It's what I can do.

And having thoroughly blown any calm and serenity that I'd managed to acquire sitting here tonight, I'm going to stop typing and try to get some sleep, since it's closer to 5am than to 4.

I'm listening to my breathing, to the fan in the heater, to the words in my head, to myself...

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06