Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Getting easier, better - 2010-02-27

I'm grateful for: getting better, better relationships, better w/TH, and RS, and FB, and MMF. Amazing; things mostly going well; wonderful rains with terrific hail - at least as long as I don't have to drive in it. ;-)

I can't seem to write anything. I've missed so much the last few, and I can't seem to think of anything to type tonight.

S2 phoned from where he is at a 'new' to him base. This is the base that will be his permanent 'home' in the army unless he gets his transfer. He is not particularly happier at this base, but ... the commanders are competent. The mem-mem (that's a lieutenant, maybe?), spoke to him today. He insisted that S2 tell him (the mem-mem) what's bothering him (S2). S2 tried to hide how miserable he is, but the mem-mem saw it and insisted on hearing about it. Then, after hearing some of S2's problems with his current unit, this mem-mem said that he would phone S2's mem-mem and talk to her about it.

It won't do any good, the current mem-mem is part of the problem, but it gives me a pretty good opinion of this mem-mem. AND, if S2 does end up not getting transferred and moving to this base, this mem-mem will become S2's mem-mem.

Mem - it's a Hebrew letter. ' מ ' So mem-mem is the first two letters of the Hebrew name for the person's rank. Another one is mem-pay - ' מפ ' Since Hebrew is read from right to left, the mem goes first on the right.

Anyway, that was a happy-ish thing. The thought that S2 will not be stuck with his current incompetent commanders in a couple of months whether or not he is transferred is a huge relief. Now all he has to do is to survive them for the next month or two. Fingers crossed, prayers being said.

Another soldier was attacked not very far from S2 is now - he was jumped while waiting for a ride (he was alone) and they beat him (whoever the 'they' was, since no one has been caught) and took his weapon. He is in hospital with what appears from the reports to be a fairly serious head injury. The soldiers should NOT be out alone, not on the borders or near the 'hot' spots. It's army regulations. It is just WRONG!

*sigh*

I can't do anything about any other soldiers than my own, and I can only do a limited amount for them. I didn't sleep at all for a couple of night, just because I would lie down and start to worry.

I'm doing better today. I have a prayer/mantra that is working for me, something I can remember and way quickly whenever the worry starts up again. It's along the lines of 'please bring him home safe.' That's all, and it's working- at least in terms of my being able to get some sleep, and cope with all the other fun things going on here...

I had a small confrontation with RS today. It was stupid - *I* was stupid. I spent I don't know how much time and energy talking around and thinking around something that I just had to come right out and say straight out, and then it wasn't a problem. But I made it into a big problem in my head... *sigh*

So, things are better with RS, definitely, and that makes me happier. I want this to work out, I surely do...

D2 is up north with N., the nada-fiancee. I should say not-yet-a-fiancee. They really should just make it official already. She couldn't bear the thought of going to our shul for Purim.

I really can't blame her. As much as I love our community, the behaviour at shul on Purim is simply shameful. They set off firecrackers inside the sanctuary - a couple of years ago one young man's pants were set on fire by accident. The babies are terrified, it is dangerous on all kinds of levels, and there is simply no stopping it.

So D2 is going to N.'s father's shul, which is at a college in Karmi'el. I can't wait to hear how it was - I hope she has a good time. She didn't sound very happy when we last spoke, but I'm guessing she was tired.

Things are generally going fairly well here. The best thing is the weather. And - it's SO good we didn't try to go camping this weekend. Pouring down rain, it's coming down in solid sheets at times, and hail. Lovely hail. I mean it. The ice is just three or four centimetres in diameter, and it sticks together making some lovely looking clumps and piles. It brought down part of our shade-cloth that we put up between the two houses, but there doesn't seem to be any more damage.

I'm loving being inside while the weather rages outside. I only wish we had a wood stove or fireplace to gather around. I was spoiled for having one for so many years. We've even talked about getting one and putting it in here. Maybe it will happen someday.

I want to go try and say something to RS, so I'm off for now. If she's gone to bed or I can't talk to her, I'll be back in a few minutes.

***

It's a bunch of hours later, so that's all folks.

I'm listening to שרית חדד : לו יהי

Title roughly translates as He Will Be.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06