Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

And we all sat down to supper together, too - 2010-03-03

I'm grateful for: productivity; possibly getting to sleep before midnight; the calm a quiet day can bring.

A nice quiet Wednesday. Last night I gave S3 a list of things he had to do today. He apparently got up full of enthusiasm and went right to work on the list, having accomplished pretty much all of it before I got up. He seems to have been very happy to have a long list of things he had to do, from eating breakfast to cutting hay for his cavies.

When I got up I had a much smaller list - not because I have less to do, but because it was yet another bad pain day. So I just slid over to the chair in front of my computer and started - I don't even remember what I started with. I went through my inbox(es). I got some more of my photos loaded on the new computer.

This is a tremendous job that has taken some months, and will take some months more, but at the end of it I will have all of my digital photos in one place in chronological order, and then I will begin to sort through them, deciding what to keep and what not to, and possibly starting to work on a collection to show my work. Will have to see about that last, although as the kids get older, the thought of doing something more with my photography than just looking at the pictures is becoming more and more possible.

I also am still copying tapes (audio and video) to the computer, and burning them on cds and dvds. Today was reasonably productive I finished two videos and four or five audio tapes. It's a job that I enjoy, and even though it may take the rest of my natural life, it gives me a sense of productiveness - if that is a word?

My audio tape deck seems to have developed problems, which is a problem for copying the rest of my audio tapes. I don't even know if I could get another one. I certainly don't want to be spending the money for a new tape deck just to get rid of the audio tapes. I'm down to a reasonably small number - less than a hundred, possibly even less than fifty, although I suspect it's a bit more. To be completely finished with audio tapes would be a huge boon for our overcrowded house, that's for sure.

I got an important (to me) quote copied so I won't lose it, and took care of some financial stuff. A minor 'argh!' moment - when I filed my U.S. tax return, I indicated I wanted my refund directly deposited into my account. It appears that instead they are mailing me a check. To Israel. *sigh* I wonder when/if I will ever see it? Enquiring minds want to know...

I had a long talk with MMF last night, which may have been in part responsible for my being so productive today. I don't actually feel any more clear-headed, but I think I must be. MMF was definitely *less* clear-headed, quite a bit muddled even, but that fortunately is not my problem.

I've been wanting to get in touch with friend MS from Bareqet, but I haven't been able to either write an email or pick up the phone.

S2 phoned many times today ('many' is even more than 'several') The last phone call I was distinctly tired of it, but I hope that didn't come through. He's at a different base tonight, with no guard duty, so he's guaranteed to be able to sleep, and even take his boots off. I hadn't thought about what it means, but sometimes he goes for a couple of days without ever having a chance to take his boots off. Yuck!

He has a meeting with some higher up officer. He has no idea what the meeting is about, and we don't know whether to be hopeful or worried. If this is something that will get him transferred, then halleluyah. I can't imagine what else, but we are so ignorant of so much here.

Also, S1 was able to actually talk to a live human at the main army base - the one that has his file. He *still* doesn't have a date when he is supposed to be showing up, but in theory the girl he talked to (everyone who works there is, or starts as, an 18yo girl. They get out usually by the time they are twenty), is sending a letter to the department that was supposed to have sent S1 a letter with the information already. Why she couldn't just phone, or tell S1 directly for that matter... well, Hashem is in charge.

TH and I are making loose plans to spend HUGE sums of money on Friday. We can't afford it, and I am perfectly willing to *not* spend the money, but it seems we can't get a stainless steel sink for the kitchen unless we travel up north to a fairly (for Israeli standards) expensive store. And while we are there, they are the only store in the country that we know of that sells futons. Just futons, I mean, plenty of places sell futon sofas and the like.

So we'll see what happens. I'm going with the intention of just looking around, but will keep an open mind. I need a new futon, too, as the one on my bed isn't quite utterly flat - it curls up on the edges where it overlaps the bed frame, so, yeah, I need a new futon.

S1 also needs new glasses, as the ones he has have a broken lens. Broken in two. Fortunately the frames fully surround the lens, and he's been making it work. Must get S1 new glasses, that's all there is to it. In our copious spare time and with all that extra money.

Sprite, who is now our old-lady cat, is sleeping in my room an awful lot of the time now. She is not a mom, she's the only one of the kittens we kept that didn't get to have even one litter. She's an orange tabby, but the stripes are so faint she looks kind of solid orange, at least on top. She also is not a terribly friendly cat, never has been, so her choosing to spend so much time in my room is a treat. She's only a year younger than Joyce was, having been born when Joyce was a year old (Joyce was her mother). I hope this isn't a sign of her getting ready to die. Joyce took to spending more time in my room before she died, but Joyce had always liked being with me.

I could go on and on, but I probably have already (I've written this in at least three different bits), and it's only twenty minutes after midnight. An amazingly good time to try and get some sleep if possible.

I'm listening to Cyndi Lauper: Shine (Babylon Mix)

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06