Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Can't catch up - 2010-03-29

I'm grateful for: being able to actually do stuff; a buck and hope for kids in the future; a new (to us) lul, big enough for all the birds.

I haven't been able to read anyone here and I really miss it. I opened one person's diary one day this week, and the window stayed open on my computer until I shut it down for the night, never getting read. Instead things got cleaned, things go moved, things got organized and sorted and packed and thrown out. People got fed and picked up and taken to the doctor and went shopping. I'm so far behind on my paperwork I'm afraid when I try to figure out how much money we have (or how much we've spent) I'm probably better off just throwing it all out and having a go from scratch when I get a new bank statement (sometime in the next three-six months. Banks here are nothing like those in other countries, where they maybe care if people accounts balance).

Tonight was the hunt for chometz, and it went off beautifully well right up until S3 had a bit of a cry - more because of being up so late than for any other reason. It *was* after midnight.

The dishes are changed, and we don't have any soup or cereal bowls. We need drinking glasses for the seder, and I have to decide really soon if I want the big table moved into the salon for the seder. Tomorrow TH is supposed to dash off to Be'er Sheva to buy a microwave oven for Pesach and hopefully some bowls, and maybe some milk, hot dogs, cheese, trash bags? It's all on Hashem, there's way too much to try and keep track of.

D3 and I are going to try and do all the cooking. Indian lamb and potatoes (it's very yum, I'll try and post the recipe), mashed potatoes, homemade apple sauce, a vegetable leek soup, tossed salad, charoset. We may make a lentil/leek saute for D2, who is firmly vegetarian and a picky eater on top of it. She seemed to think she would like the soup, though, so perhaps I should stop worrying about it.

We also could use some more matzoh. I know, it's amazing, isn't it? We only have about seven kilo of matzoh in the house. How will we ever survive? Eight people at the seder table. Not the most we've ever hosted, but more than enough. Did I write all this already? Sorry if I'm repeating myself, I can't remember.

Ani lo zokheret clum. I don't remember nothing. ;-)

Too much still to write about. I owe RS an amends that I've been trying to make all day just about. I have to assume Hashem has some reason why it has to wait, but I'm not comfortable - I want to clear the air NOW! I hate having something like this hanging over my head.

What else? I dunno. Had a fight with TH. Had another fight with RS (not the reason for the amends). I ache all over from *doing* stuff, which is just so much better than aching all over for no good reason at all. We have a buck goat in the shed for a week, after which he becomes barbeque. He's not our goat, not our call, and we do hope to get some kids out of it. Hashem willing. It's kind of hard, though.

We're supposed to be getting the landlord's lul (chicken house) ready to move our breeding population of chickens into, but that has completely gone by the way with Pesach preparations and all. I'm trying not to stress about it. In fact, I'm spending an awful lot of my energy just trying not to stress. Sometimes I am more successful than others. *sigh*

Now I need to go to sleep. In theory I want to be up in about six hours, I need a shower (which is more of an event for me than for anyone able-bodied). I want to be able to start working on cooking right after breakfast and the nullification of the chometz. D2 is coming down sometime around 4pm I think. S2 is here, and was a terrific help today, but will have to spend tomorrow working on his room.

It is just a huge challenge.

Anyway, that's all from me today. I do hope to manage to get back in touch with people here. In the meantime this is rather less a diary than a letter drop. Will write more when I can, and someday things will (Hashem willing) settle down enough that I can again be an active participant in online society. Heh.

I'm listening to birds calling and a treseem banging against the wall.

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06