Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sick, injured, bored. - 2010-04-04

I'm *really* sick with the 'flu, and appear to have at least bruised and possibly cracked a rib. So as long as I'm stuck in bed with no brain or ability to do anything, I thought I'd try to catch up on my diaryland reading. No chance. I'll give it another good try sometime soon (maybe Monday), but I've just reached the 'eyes crossing, words blurring' stage. It was good to find out what's been going on with some of my friends here, and better still to feel like I haven't become quite utterly disconnected.

That said, it's been a remarkably busy, productive, frustrating, growth inducing, fun and exciting time. Weeks or months? I can't remember. Pesach ends Monday night, after which life theoretically returns to theoretical normal. Yeah, right.

Since my sister came to live with us, the number of phone calls from bill collectors has more than tripled. This is particularly interesting because it doesn't seem as if all the new calls are for her. I can't tell, I won't answer when they call. If they leave a coherent message I'll call back, but as more and more bill collectors are using computer generated messages, that is just not happening.

The bill collectors wouldn't be such an issue if they didn't call in the middle of the night - or early morning - our time. A couple of nights ago the phone rang at around 2:30am. I answered it and hung up. It rang again, so I picked it up and said into the phone 'it's 2:30 in the morning here.' and hung up. The phone rang a third time. Persistant buggers, aren't they?

Fortunately, my sister has forced a solution on us. She keeps taking my phone, the VOIP phone, for this reason and that one. She doesn't hang it up so it doesn't get a chance to charge. Then it is not available for me when I need it. So I am going to get a new U.S. phone number, which will connected to our local phone line. I *love* modern technology! The bill collectors won't have this number (unless RS gives it to them - grrr) and she can keep the ruddy VOIP phone around her neck for all I care. Oh, yes, I'm going to stop paying for the VOIP phone, too. I expect it will work like a dream. I'm unhappy about losing my phone number. It took me quite a while to get used to it. But then, I need to think about maybe getting a Bethlehem PA number. More convenient for D1 you see.

GD1, my granddaughter, is in the hospital as I'm writing this. Pneumonia. She appears to be all right, but prayers are certainly appreciated.

I've been lying in bed, useless, all day, and then D1 phones of all time during the ten minutes I got up to take a desperately needed shower. Gd I hate that!

Okay, I'm coughing, which is really bad for my hurt rib. So I need to take the strain off and lie down. Will be back sometime, I promise.

I've an 8:30am appointment with a dr. over this rib. *sigh* I personally think that sleep would have been more helpful. However, there it is. No sleep tonight, X-rays tomorrow, yomtov tomorrow night.

Can't even manage my usual gratitudes and music. I'm just grateful, for a lot of things. And music is good.

3 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06