Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

If it isn't one thing it's another - 2010-07-05

I'm grateful for: emergencies that aren't catastrophes; getting books read; older children.

I don't know if I wrote about this before, and I can't be arst to go find out. My right arm is completely messed up. I'm having neurological symptoms, I've an infection in a tendon, and said tendon is inflamed, making doing anything with the arm, well, bad.

My legs are working better, though, which is interesting. I still have very bad balance, so I'm not just walking and running in some carefree fashion, but I *can* walk. I don't like having a bum arm, but, when my arm first starting not working I was saying I'd rather have both arms working than be able to walk. Now - I'm not so sure. It just takes getting used to. And I wish it didn't hurt so much. Let's just have m.s. and skip the infection, okay?

I've been catching up with people online today. Old friends, and new old friends.

It's been a heck of a few days. In very close order the washing machine died with S2's army clothes in it, S2's phone died, my phone is dying, S3 got sick, S1 got more mildly sick, Saturday was my mother's 72nd birthday, which was fraught with all kinds of - well, issues. I hate that word. Except when applied to magazines.

TH is off at a job interview right now. We ran out of goat food Saturday, and S1 went with RS to buy some on Sunday while TH was at work. TH and I went out last night and bought a new washing machine. Must remember to be grateful that we actually have the wherewithal to buy a new washing machine at the drop of a hat. That is a miracle without question.

My new keyboard for my laptop computer was dropped off with the guy who repairs computers, and he says I should be able to pick it up tonight. The question now is am I up to the shlep to Beit Shemesh tonight? I think I have a little bit of what S1 and S3 have as well. I can't believe I might actually have a working laptop again, it's been so long. Nothing short of amazing.

I've finished the book World Cup Wishes. I would strongly recommend it to anyone who wants a good read and a chance to look into what it is really like to be Israeli. The books isn't 'about' being Israeli, it's just a novel, written by an Israeli author with characters that are well written and (mostly) likable. It has a sweet, or maybe slightly bitter-sweet ending. S2 LOVED it, he read it through twice because (as he said) he didn't want it to be over. So, it's lousy as a book review but what the heck. It's a really great book.

The kabas (truant officer) phoned and announced that he wanted to make a home visit on Wednesday at 10am. I. Don't. Think. So.

***

I got interrupted and I can't quite recapture the right mindset to keep writing. Such is life.

I'm listening to Orthodox Celts: Star of the County Down

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06