Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Heat wave - 2010-07-11

I'm grateful for: a strong sea breeze; room and shade on the mirpesset; a life that keeps on getting better.

We're having a heat wave. A heat wave, in Israel, in July. The gub'ment is warning people to stay inside and use their air conditioners. Obviously we're not in danger of electrical blackouts this year.

I've been pretty good, staying in my air conditioned room, but now I'm out on my new, expanded mirpesset, doing laundry, and enjoying the VERY strong breeze coming from the sea. It is so strong that a big heavy towel blew right off of the drying rack even with a metal rack folded over to hold it in place. My queen size sheet that was marginally folded is blowing across the table. At some point I will get up and get it moved. For now, though, it is just such a pleasure to sit here on the loveseat, which for the first time is entirely in shade and facing across the yard to the wadi. So much peace. And fresh air, and sunshine at a sufficient remove.

I used to be such a sun-worshipper. I had to have big, south facing windows anywhere I lived (northern hemisphere - southern sun) because I couldn't bear to be cut off from the sun for even a little bit if it could be helped. Six years in Israel have cured that. Summers, I am just happy that there is shade I can sit in, and look out at all that blistering sun from the safety of my mirpesset.

We're going to be putting a roof on part of the mirpesset (making it a pergola according to our next-door-neighbour) and then shade will always be available. Not to mention protection from rain in the winter.

The d--ned flies are trying to fly into my eyes and my mouth, and S1's dog is trying to nose her way into drooling on my computer. This isn't paradise except in the earthly sense of there being noplace else I'd rather be. I can live with that.

Physically I'm not doing so well. I can barely stand for a few minutes. It's enough to get me from my room to the mirpesset, or to move a bit of laundry. Then I have to sit down because it hurts too much. Such is life.

I let RS take S3 out with her, and I've been regretting it almost ever since. In the midst of this heat wave she has ONE bottle of water in the car for the two of them, and I phoned her more than an hour ago telling her that S3 needs to be out of the sun and kept cool and hydrated. She's still not back yet - in fact I asked D3 to phone her (because if I'd tried to talk to her I might well have blown up), and according to D3 they were '10 minutes from the car.' WTF!!!! I have a 10yo who gets sick if he so much as spends too much time outside in the summer, and WHAT is RS doing? *sigh*

It is my fault. I know it's my fault. I wasn't thinking and I thought S3 would enjoy an outing with RS. I was not entirely myself yet, bad night and early in the morning for me. The problem is that S3 is the one who will suffer the consequences. When I screw up and I suffer for it, well, that's life. But when it's one of the kids...

***

Well, S3 is back now - was interrupted by his coming out to show me what he got in the city. He seems none the worse for wear. Apparently RS had more water in the car than she told me. So - all is well, all that worry for nothing. *sigh* I'm glad that it was for nothing.

I'm listening to Duke Ellington: Concerto For Cootie

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06