Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Third time's the charm - 2010-08-05

I'm grateful for: a 24 hour moked right nearby; good friends; Kitten cuddling up to me tonight.

An unprecedented third entry in one day. What happened? Well, an unscheduled trip to the moked (urgent care facility) at around midnight tonight. S3 has had a rash on his body for several days. No worries, it happens every summer, and the answer is to keep him quiet and out of the sun, and take many showers. Only - this one didn't get better, it got worse.

TH and I were out with D3 doing the weekly shopping - Wednesday night rather than Thursday because tomorrow was going to be complicated. We got home around ten pm, which is when we found out that S3 wasn't asleep and couldn't sleep because of the rash.

A very long phone call later (mostly long because of the phone trees and waiting time), we reached the on-duty nurse at our sick fund, and after she'd asked us a gazillion questions it was recommended that we take S3 to be seen by a dr.

He's home now, and, I hope, sleeping peacefully. I'm quite obviously not sleeping, peacefully or otherwise, but I am hoping I will be able to fall asleep soon. We have to take him to the regular dr. tomorrow for proper diagnosis and treatment, and he's going to want me to come, and as of now I am in absolutely NO shape for it.

TH is probably not going to be doing much better. He's got to get up at the crack of dawn to drive S2 to the bus so he can get to his base on time. Then TH has to get to the bank, and do some shopping (stopped by the bakery last night and they'd completely sold out of rye bread), and a handful of other small errands. And now has to make an appointment for S3 and get us all to it and back home. Whee, fun.

Expect tomorrow to be a watershed of cranky. What can you do? This week would be relatively quiet if they (the infamous 'they'), hadn't decided this was a brilliant time to have a soccer tournament. TH's team it playing Thursday night, and possible motzei shabbat (Saturday night), Sunday or Monday night.

After that he should be out of it, because his team hasn't done well enough to get into the play-offs. That's fine with me. If this whole thing works out and becomes a regular sort of league, I'll have all the team spirit required of me, but right now all I want is some peace.

Going to try to sleep, now. Hashem willing I'll be up to writing some more after the dr. visit, but if not I'll try to remember to write the outcome. At least we're reasonably sure it's not the dreaded Mediterranean spotted fever. *Phew!*

I'm listening to the fan and the keys and my thoughts - quiet night.

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06