Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Shabbat - 2010-08-07

I'm grateful for: a quiet day and sleeping dogs; time to read books that aren't necessary; nice smelling candles.

Shabbat morning, I shouldn't be typing on the computer, oh, well. I never got a chance yesterday, the day was just too full. That should be a good thing, right?

It wasn't a *bad* day, but I'd planned on a restful, relatively easy day getting a few things accomplished - nothing too hairy. Instead of which RS drove to Be'er Sheva and her radiator broke. So TH had to drive off and rescue her, and that left cripplled me and two out of sorts teenagers plus S1 to get everything done.

D3 had every good reason to be out of sorts, and I tried to leave her alone as much as possible. She still managed to get at least three loads of laundry done, which is pretty amazing under the circumstances.

S2 hasn't any obvious reasons for feeling down physically, but he did and you can't argue with that. With all of that he got the bookcase that holds the cd's emptied and moved out to the sitting room in the small house, but that was all he could do because we needed to anchor the bookcase to the wall and no one here knows where TH keeps the anchor bolts.

S1 also did a good job, and he and S2 got bathrooms cleaned, floors vacuumed and all kinds of incidental jobs done. He got stopped when we had to put a *whole bunch* of stuff up in the attic, but one of the 'feet' on the ladder wasn't working and of course no one but TH knows how to deal with that. S1 is pretty smart and he fiddled with it for a while, but there it was.

Me, I dragged myself out of bed and into the small house at least three times. I physically was in no shape for even that much activity and I ended up sick and suffering for a while afterwards. But when TH finally got home, he got the bookcase anchored, the stuff up to the attic, and then came in the house and helped me do what I needed to do, which was clean and organize in the family room.

We've been using the family room as a catch-all space, and it had finally become unmanageable. So in addition to cleaning the floor where the bookcase had been (you don't even want to know), we got all the paper into a little stationary chest that S2 had brought home from the office, sorted the craft things, got puzzles moved and toys boxed and dusted the black box which holds all the electronix (dvd player, cable box, router...), cleaned and dusted behind the computer table, got my bed table that I am no longer using cleared off and into the salon, moved a chair into the family room that RS can use (so she no longer takes up the entire sofa), and a whole lot of other little things.

I mostly sat while TH worked, but I did some stuff and it was a whole lot better afterwards. It would take a flamethrower and a high powered hose to get the room actually *clean* not to mention a coat of paint or six, but it is way better. I'm looking forward to painting it, and although it may not happen for another six months, it is definitely happening.

Anyway, the result of all of the activity is that I am completely pooped out today. I've made it to the loo once, and that is it. At 1pm. It could be depressing, but it's what I knew to expect, and for today I'm not being too down on myself for it.

I wish I'd fallen asleep last night when I started dozing, but for some reason I fought it and stayed up another hour and a half. ??? Don't even know why. I didn't get anything done, but read a couple of chapters of Bite Me by Christopher Moore. A book that so far is entirely missable in my opinion. *Sigh* Well, it's shabbat, a day for accomplishing nothing.

My big dog, Balta, is wuffling in her sleep, chasing weasels or something. I don't know if I mentioned but we had a big weasel or something like that (a stoat?) coming out of the wadi and eating our chickens. That has stopped now, but now TH is taking it seriously when the dogs 'go off' at three in the morning. So there is a good result. He goes out to check what they are barking at and if it's only the weasel/stoat that has been scared off and we see nothing, so much the better. He used to not bother to check and to yell at the dogs for barking. Fool. What IS the point of guard dogs if you aren't going to listen to them?

Chamudah, the little black labrador cross is on her side like a dead thing on my bed. Not even her ears are twitching as I type. Kitten left me for canned food about three hours ago. She loves me, no question, but not above soft food. The cats only get canned food on shabbat, so it's a special day for them, too.

What else? S3 and I have been doing Hebrew together every day this week. This makes me feel good, not only is he obviously getting better, doing well, but I feel that I am improving, too. One problem is that I read parts of his book that he should be reading. I need to let him try at least, instead of reading it all to him right off the bat. Today we're going to read a little four-page Hebrew book together, since we can't write, and I will try to just let him work it out. *Sigh* It is SO hard.

He WILL learn Hebrew when he goes in the army, no question, but I want him to be able to function beyond that, and if he is already conversant in Hebrew before he goes in the army he'll be ahead of the rest of the family. He's just not that interested in learning to talk to people. I don't think it's a problem exactly, but his life will be easier in the future if he learns this now. Well, that's the whole point of unschooling I guess. He will really learn it when he needs/wants to. Still, it's time we spend together as well, so it's very good for that.

I've got to grab him for that reading now while I am fired up for it. So, maybe I'll write more later, or more likely I'll get all caught up in the day and who knows when I'll get back. I like being busy, and I like feeling like I'm accomplishing things, and if I don't write too regularly in my diary, I guess that's a small price to pay.

Be well, all, and Gd bless

I'm listening to Balta wuffling

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06