Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Ranting and revelling - 2010-08-15

I'm grateful for: a day full of friends; an adorable cuddling Kitten; popcorn, Peps1 and a Y0rk peppermint patty. :-)

I want to say thanks to l'empress. I don't have your email and I really appreciate your comment on RS. It is so good for me to know that someone sees and understands.

We ended up having 'the talk' just a couple of hours ago. It's done, sort of. She is going back to the U.S. She is coming back in April, when she will stay with us only long enough (we sincerely hope) to find a room or an apartment on the moshav. Please, Hashem, give us strength to get through the next month-and-a-half, and through whatever time it is on the other end.

As if to set the cap on the whole affair, AFTER we'd had this talk RS told me that she told next-door-neighbour with whom she is going out, that FB is not my brother. I am positively steaming. To say the least. I can barely maintain a decent tone of voice right now, one reason for typing it rather than talking to anyone.

No one who hasn't lived in a small town, particularly in a society where family is of the utmost importance, and imagine how damaging this can be. Not to mention just plain mean. FB is not HER brother - there never was any suggestion or intimation that he was. He was my foster brother, we had the same foster father. RS had nothing to do with that. As adults, RS has been jealous of FB and I, and of our relationship with our shared parent. Is that why? It's possible that it was her jealousy coming out sideways, but it's also possible she just couldn't be bothered to give a sh*t.

TH has gone off to talk to next-door-neighbour, to explain that FB is MY brother, even if he isn't RS's brother. If it gets around the moshav as gossip that he's not my brother, there could be uncalcul-able damage. You just don't HAVE unrelated men staying in your house here. Oh, it's done, but not by the people we would choose to associate with. And I had teenage daughters living in the same house with him, so the damage isn't just about me.

I know that this isn't the way other people choose to live, and that's fine. I belong here, in my tiny little closed-minded community of four families (plus us handful of Americans) in which simply everybody is related to everybody else, and everyone agrees to a code of conduct which, while not followed by all, is accepted by all as the rule by which behaviour is measured.

RS said she wanted to live here like this. And now she's done something that - she couldn't have done much more damage if she'd been trying. Fortunately we always have the excuse that she doesn't know enough Hebrew and mis-spoke, but at the same time TH can't just race right out and start defending us - that would be just as bad as saying nothing. In short, I could just about kill her, so it's a good thing I am in my room with the door shut right now.

On a completely other tack, I have good news from my friend June from Scotland. She is coming to visit us the first full week in May. She is going to buy the tickets tomorrow, so the dates may change but she is coming. I am SO excited. Happy, happy, joy, joy! She was going to come and visit before, but then the last Gaza war broke out and she had to cancel. She was still willing to come but her family would have had a cow. I perfectly understand, no hard feelings, but that makes us that much MORE happy that she is coming this spring. WHEEEEEE!!!!!

And in still other news, my very good friend (initials MM, so do I just call her Canadian MM? That's not actually a great help here) connected w/me on F@cebook today. Yes, I've been going on f@cebook more often, and today it paid off big time with a very happy chat. Her husband is coming to Isr@el to check out a work possibility that could turn into a full-time position. Prayers are going out big time. She and I really connected, and her son and S3 were the BEST friends on just meeting, and one of her daughters and D3 'clicked' too. If they were here I'd have one set of friends that my kids could play with with absolutely no reservations on my part. They are homeschoolers, but more than that their family has a similar 'feel' to us. They aren't Jewish, they are quite religious, but I don't feel like that is a problem. We have similar ideas about the creator and can talk about Him freely.

I'm getting ahead of myself. The biggest problem is if the company that the husband is talking to can get the money to hire him. And that is entirely out of anyone's hands here but Hashem's. But we would be so happy, and so would they to live here.

Okay, there's tons more, as I think I've mentioned life here is more than a little bit full. S2 is home and stressing hugely. D1 phoned, I'm dying to hear how everything is going with her - she's supposed to be moving into the bigger upstairs apartment any time, and the kids are coming back from vacation, and how is the baby (she's expecting).

But this is way long already. TH has been back and is going off with next-door-neighbour so I trust all is well there. I have popcorn and the new episodes of M@d Men to watch so I guess I'll do that. Thanks for listening...

I'm listening to Marko Kon & Milan Nikolic: Cipela. It's from the 2009 Eurovision contest if anyone cares.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06