Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Late Friday afternoon - 2010-08-20

I'm grateful for: Being able to do a little something; knowing what is wrong so I can work on changing it; scented candles in my room.

My back is absolutely killing me. I washed some dishes. Not a lot of dishes. Not terribly dirty dishes. But I washed some and now I am in SO much pain. It's very satisfying...

After too much talk and angst and stress and all that, I've figured out that I just let myself get too over-extended. Not physically, but emotionally, and mentally. I wasn't stopping to pray enough and I allowed things to go on that I shouldn't/wouldn't have if I'd been paying enough attention.

MMF wrote me an email basically saying it was okay with her if I don't talk to her for a while. Part of me is tempted to be sarcastic 'thank you for your kind permission.' On the other hand, it means that if/when Hashem causes us to be talking together again there should hopefully be less awkwardness of things not said. I don't know. I find I am SO angry at things I allowed to pass, that I've no idea how much time and distraction will be needed before I can bear to think about talking to her again. I let things get way out of line. A learning experience. Perhaps next time I will catch it while things are less badly beyond what is acceptable. Maybe.

Talked with RS about MMF, and anti-semitism, and leftists 'progressives,' and mother and many another non-charges topic and we are getting on fine for the moment. Have to stay away from charged topics, like her going back to the U.S., and finding an apartment, and all of that sort of thing.

TH is doing something, I don't know what. He's falling over tired all of the time, and not taking the time needed to get enough sleep and night and then falling asleep at all kinds of inconvenient times during the day. He's asleep now. My bedding needs to be changed and my trash emptied and I need help to shower and get dressed for shabbos. There are less than two hours 'til candle-lighting. And there he sleeps.

In a few minutes I'll get S2 to change my bed, and deal with the trash, and hopefully D3 can help me with the shower. S1 can get the popcorn started for tonight, but cooking supper really requires only one person and TH has arranged that that has to be him. If he wasn't here we could probably manage, but with him here there is a way things HAVE to happen. *sigh*

I had a nice talk with D2 today, after almost a whole week of not talking. She's got some kind of a rash that started when she was in the sun. It doesn't hurt or itch, but it sounds exactly like what S3 gets when he gets too much sun. So, best guess is, they are both allergic to the sun, and for whatever reason D2 is lucky in that it doesn't itch or hurt, however bothersome it is.

Other than that she's doing okay. Didn't get enough work this week, which has me a bit worried, but the money stuff will get sorted out by Hashem, 'cause we can't do it. The heat wave here has been *really* bad. Every day D2 phones and says 'it's hot.' She doesn't usually complain about the heat, even in the worse of summer.

This heat wave is atypical in that it is hotter in Jerusalem. That never has happened in my knowledge, although I'm sure it's not the first time in history. Still, J'lem is hotter than here or Tel Aviv, that's gotta be really bad. They aren't used to that kind of heat (39C today), so probably most people aren't prepared for it. That kind of heat is typical in the Negev, or the Beit She'an valley, and so on, but not in J'lem. D2 and her nada-fiancee are going to J'lem on Tuesday, so our best hope is that the heat wave will break on Monday as they are predicting. I'm glad I'm not there. ;-)

It's hot enough that all the dogs and Kitten are spending as much time in my (air conditioned) room as they can. It's hard when all three dogs are in here because Chamudah growls and fusses at either or both of the other dogs, but we managed it with Samantha (S1's dog) under the bed, Balta on the floor at the foot of the bed, and Chamudah on the bed. The floor is preferred generally because it is cooler. Poor doggies!

Okay, I've more to chatter/blather about, but I really need to get some things done if I'm not going to be completely miserable or shabbos.

I'm listening to Doves: Catch the Sun

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06