Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Trying not to stress - 2010-08-26

I'm grateful for: finally 'getting' how uber-sensitive I am; easy days for a change; learning Hebrew, however badly.

It's taken decades but I have finally identified, once and for all, the cause of all of the pain in the gut and digestive problems I have suffered for the better part of my life. Yes, my stomach is just sensitive to *everything.* No joke. A little stress, a little bit of cheese, a little - ANYTHING - and it just gives up. Pain will do it to, which is an interesting catch-22 when it starts going.

Anyway, no more looking for specific causes, like stress or certain foods - I'm just not going to eat any more. *sigh* I wish that worked. ...

I am laying in supplies of non-stomach-upsetting foods like mashed potatoes (okay, I bought potatoes, but I bought more than usual), and avoiding eating anything (when possible) when I am (how shall I say it?) out-of-sorts.

Fresh fruit and vegetables and nuts and juice and fried foods and, well, you-name-it are a problem. I could just live on white starch for the rest of me life. It would make for a reasonably short life, I suppose. Oh, and vitamin supplements? They are bad, too. EVEN taken with food. Even as a liquid. Maybe especially as a liquid. I haven't done detailed tests, and I think I'll take a pass.

It is good to know, finally, that my digestive system is just totally f**ked, plain and simple, and no more thinking there is any way to 'manage' it. There ain't. Whee!

So, on to other things. Yesterday's non-day-alone-in-the-house while disappointing went mostly okay. S2 cleaned all the floors, which was a good thing. I got some studying done, finished a book, and didn't upset my stomach any more. It is good knowing what is wrong. No, really.

When TH and the other kids got home, we had a spaghetti supper and D3, S1 and I went out to buy groceries. TH and I had a good yelling row on my way out the door. The shopping went fine. And the row seems to have cleared things up - at least he apologized for having had his head up his a**. Not enough, but it's something.

He's off at the dentist as I am typing this. Hopefully having finished with his medical stuff for a while (two dr. visits and the dentist today) will allow him to settle down to his usual less-than-marvelous self. Yeah, and I'm allowed to be a bit catty - you have no idea how utterly pustulant he was.

I don't know if I mentioned, S3 has an appointment with a new (to us) dentist in Sderot. Some of you may have heard of Sderot as the city most shelled by the lovely people in Azza (Gaza). It's also a rather nice city with a great deal of empty space now. It's where I imagine I might move to if I left TH, or for any other reason found myself looking for a place to live by myself. I *would* need to be in a city, sadly, but it would have to be a small one. I can't handle too much noise and crowds.

I am a sensitive one, I am. I don't like it, but it's true.

Well, I had a bad night. But I fell asleep easily once I put my head on the pillow. What made it a bad night? I don't really know, but it definitely involved several animals, and interruptions and eruptions into my room by several persons even past midnight. I woke before noon, and then had several interruptions and eruptions into my room by persons lacking in any sensitivity themselves.

Today I am theoretically driving RS and D3 and myself to Tel Aviv for our acupuncture appointments, and will pick up S2 and D3 there, if everything works out. I'm a little nervous about all the driving. What if I can't do it? I suppose I will just have to deal with that when the time comes. Both D2 and S2 can drive, and D2 can even drive the car without violating the terms of the insurance. RS I will NOT have driving if I am to survive the trip. I wouldn't be able to digest my food for a month.

I need to eat some lunch, and dress, and get ready to go. I have about an hour and a half. TH isn't here with the car, and not expected until it is about time to leave, so that is something I can stress about if I choose to. I'll try not to.

And, I'm off.

I'm listening to Jethro Tull: Cross-Eyed Mary

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06