Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Back home - 2010-09-05

I'm grateful for: a wonderful weekend away, and a good conference experience; sleep, meeting people, this beautiful country; being home again.

I'm home again. It was - long, good, hard, worthwhile; and it is - over. Thank goodness. I was SO glad to get home again.

So was everyone here. The dogs, kids, husband. Kitten is not talking to me. She made a mess of my computer, then stalked off. Sometime, tomorrow probably, she'll chew the heck out of an arm, and then we will be okay.

I'm really tired, and my right arm is a total mess. When I arrived at the hotel, alone, I asked the guard out front if there was someone to help me. He came himself to unload my wheelchair and carried my bags into the hotel, unfortunately leaving me to wheel myself in. I didn't have enough Hebrew to explain I need to be pushed.

Then, between the 'helpful' crew at the desk and the 'helpful' people at the conference registration, I got delivered to my room - without my bags. I had to get myself back downstairs, pick up the bags, and wheel myself and then back upstairs and to the room. To add to the joy of this, much of the hotel is half-carpeted.

Pushing a wheelchair on carpeting is harder than you might thing. Half-carpeting is just about impossible. Unless you can get entirely on the floor or entirely on the carpet, the force and resistance of the wheels is unbalanced, and you just can't imagine. Even if you have two good arms, which I don't.

So then I just had to shower and change, which I normally have help with at home. I was prepared to have to manage by myself here, but not after all of that. My arm is going to be a problem for a week, easily.

FB showed up about three hours after I did. I have to say, sharing a hotel room with him turned out to be about as stress-free as anything I can remember. By the last day (today) there was some difficulty, primarily with him dashing into the bathroom just as I was about to get up, but nothing bad happened, so it was all okay.

I met some people at the conference, but it is simply not the sort of place where I can get to know anyone. So perhaps Hashem will have me get to know some of the people (at least the ones who live here in Israel) better in the future, but - yeah, probably not.

FB had a good talk Friday afternoon while a friend of his took a nap on the small sofa in our room, and pretty much sorted out everything. So that was good. :-) I'm looking forward to his coming out here after RS leaves with a lot more happiness.

Well, it's after 1am, and tomorrow starts another very full day. Driving S2 to the bus, TH is feeling sick and S3 has to go to the dentist. Monday will be quite full as well, as we must shop for the holiday, and Tuesday before sundown RS, D3 and I all have appointments for acupuncture. We will all collapse in a proper heap come sundown, I don't doubt.

I have a lovely t-shirt that was given to me by a couple of Hungarians at the conference. I was admiring it, but it was shabbos and I couldn't buy it. After a few minutes the fellow said I should just take it, as a gift. I was delighted. I have no idea what it says, it's in Hungarian, but it fits and it was fun to wear tonight when I left. I fell absolutely in love with a shirt on sale by the Russian group at the conference, but I couldn't buy it, either, and so I am sadly out-of-luck, unless Hashem decides to make a miracle. Not only was it a nice shirt, it was in the perfect yellow. Not TOO yellow, but with a hint of gold. It's *my* colour. I really wanted it. *pout*

I did get a fair amount of sleeping done while there, didn't manage to get to the sea or swim in either of the pools. I was extremely sad about that. I also got a fair amount of reading done, and managed to study some Hebrew as well.

I'd best stop typing and try to get some sleep. Be well, all, and Gd bless.

I'm listening to Bob Marley: Turn Your Lights Down Low

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06