Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

...and life goes on - 2010-09-28

I'm grateful for: S2 and D3 doing a wonderful job cleaning up in the cottage; a peaceful home tonight; books to take my mind off of real life.

So RS was dropped off at the airport a little less than five hours ago. Presumably she is on the plane, now. One can but hope.

Thank goodness it is beyond my ability to describe what it was like. The important thing is that she's off, no one was killed in the process, I have my home back and ...

Okay, what can I say? I can't begin to explain it to anyone. You'd just have to see it, and even seeing it wouldn't make it sink in. You would stand (or sit) there wondering 'what is she doing?' 'WHY is she doing that?' 'Why doesn't she just ....?'

And there are no answers.

We left the house over an hour after I'd told her we wanted to leave, and still with eight hours before her flight was scheduled to leave. That much lead time is absolutely necessary. RS is quite capable of being as much as eight hours late for a flight. No, seriously. And still showing up a the airport and trying to get on a plane, too.

Repeatedly.

'Nuff said about that.

Except... it's never enough. So much she did while she was here that can never be undone. Things she took that weren't hers, things she said that can't be unsaid. There was a mouse or mice living in the cottage and she complained about it more than once. TH got a mouse trap (of the no kill variety) and she never actually set it up anywhere the mouse was to be found. Why? Who knows. The real question might well be, why would a mouse come and live in a house inhabited by one very large bouncy dog and three cats who are all experienced and active hunters?

Now that she is gone, we find out. Among all the crap and crud on the floor (she literally covers the floor, so that you can't actually see the floor itself, with papers, trash, clothing, you-name-it), she had apparently spilled (or spread on purpose?) some pecans and cashews. Of COURSE there was a mouse (or mice). All the mouse traps in the world, even if used, wouldn't keep rodents out of a ground-floor building with food spread all around like that. !!!!

There's more. There is SO much more. I don't want to go there, I want to go to sleep. It's after 4am and I have company arriving, theoretically around 11am. When we got home from the airport, I was so tired, and wired, that I couldn't possibly have slept. I felt so awful that once again there are no words.

Feeling a bit better now. I'm going to read a Georgette Heyer romance, which will hopefully sufficiently channel my brain so that I will fall asleep thinking of fantasy things rather than lying there coming up with one more thing, and one more thing, to fume about.

Oh, and I am completely COVERED in bug bites. So much so that there are places I can't scratch one bite because it is completely surrounded by others. And the temperature has finally dropped, at least at night. We were able to drive with the windows open, and I had the window open in my room for a while. Maybe the weather was waiting for RS to leave, too?

I turned off my music and am not listening at all.

1 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06