Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Crafts with the neighbours - 2006-12-26

I'm grateful for: My family; meeting the neighbours; an early night.

Long day today, good day mostly. Woke up late, after being woken up early. managed a bit of a shower, went to Moetza (city gov'ment offices), water department (wrong one!), post office and shuk.

First stop at the post office, the lines were to long. We went to the shuk. 'We' is John, Simcha, Eliyahu, Zechy and I. Bought fruit and veg and nuts. Looked for shoes for Zechy - they don't carry them large enough. Not a surprize, most stores in Israel don't carry them large enough. And an awful lot of stores in the U.S. In a few years no doubt he'll be custom ordering at best, having them custom made at worst. BIG feet. Like John and Hans (and El'yah), but bigger. Looked for flatware tray. Nothing large enough. I did end up buying a pair of earrings from a very nice man at the shuk. I didn't necessarily want the earrings, but he was so VERY nice (Eliyahu was crying, he tried to help, way over and above the call of duty). So, I bought a pair of earrings. Right thing to do, I think.

Back to the post office. I found a housewares store that actually had a tray large enough - okay, almost large enough. The post office was closed, but the clerk (p'kida) remembered John from a couple of days ago, told him to go around the back where she let him in and got our package. What was in the package was an Israeli Visa card that we can use outside of Israel. Like for internet purchases and things like that. No more freaking out about dollars. Okay, hopefully no more freaking out about dollars. I can but hope.

Back home. Lots more headaches about the old landlord, the new tenants at the old house, the electric bill, money. John talked to the electric company and the lawyer. I am still not freaking out about it all. Amazing, really. There is plenty to freak out about, but I seem to be able to hang onto the idea that it all works out, strongly enough to prevent freaking. Cool.

John worked on the roof of the cottage. It's going well. Still more work to do, of course. Lots of work to do. But good progress is happening. It rained today, apparently everywhere but here. 'Here' being Shoqeda, this moshav. I left to drive up to Ashekelon, to look for a pair of shoes for Zechy, and to pick up Havva. From just a bit north of here all the way to the northern end of Ashkelon rain, serious downpour, flooded roads and parking lots, quite impressive. Coming home again - the pavement is completely dry here. Amazing.

Anyway Zechy and I got to the Takhana Rechevet (Train station) to find a parking space right in front of the shoe store there. We found two pairs of shoes in his size (sport shoes). One pair was white with this kind of radioactive blue on the top. I don't have to tell you, do I? that that wouldn't do. The other pair were a pair of grey, normal shoes. He is thrilled. He says they fit great. The only sad thing - the store was having a sale, we could have bought another pair of shoes for just 40 shekel. But I couldn't think of anything at all we could use. Of course after we had left I thought of something. *Sigh*

Picked up Havva, then stopped to do a little bit of grocery shopping at a new little grocery store I found. I like the place, even if they didn't have any cat food there at all. And then home through the deluge. It was very hard, stressful driving, not only because of the rain, but also because Israeli drivers, well some, just can't drive in the rain. It makes it that much more scary.

Home again, a quick supper, then Havva and I headed out to this women's night arranged on the moshav. A crafts night and we made candle-holders. I wasn't there for the crafts, and just as well, they didn't turn out so well. But I was there to meet neighbours and see and be seen. That worked out quite well. I have a bit of an advantage being in the wheelchair in that many people are willing to assume that any odd behaviour or lack of social graces is due to whatever my disability is, so no one gets offended, and they make an extra effort to talk to me slowly and clearly sometimes.

You know, how offended I would be if someone treated me that way in English? Aren't people silly? But since it's Hebrew and I am struggling so much, I actually appreciate it. Funny, funny, funny.

Anyway after that was over I was totally wiped out, dead, exhausted, worn out, done. So, here I am in bed before 11pm, and probably asleep before too much longer. A good thing too. Tomorrow is one of those days when John, Havva and Neil clear out. I want to be well rested and able to do stuff for that. :-)

I don't know if I wrote, but Neil spent the night in Jerusalem last night, and didn't come home today until I was heading out the door to pick up Havva with Zechy. It definitely helped.

I still don't know if I'm whacko or not. I guess the jury is still out. But whether or no, I seem to be doing better. Barukh Hashem!

I'm listening to John snoring quietly

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06