Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A good day, up too late - 2007-01-19

I'm grateful for: my space heater; my dogs; audioooks for free.

I really don't know what to write. It's been eventful - when isn't it? Tonight I had some quiet time, so I ended up staying up too late. How could I go to bed when the house was quiet, the kids were all in bed, and I had a chance to just unwind a little bit? So tomorrow I'll be short on sleep and quite possibly cranky as hell. Of course, I could be cranky as hell anyway...

Eliyahu went to Avraham's birthday party today. A four hour round-trip for a couple of hours of birthday party, but sometimes it's what you have to do. Truly appalling is that a whole family of kids came by, and not one of them brought Avraham a birthday present. I'm glad I wasn't there to be appalled in person. The kids/families present at the party are all home-schoolers. As I've already learned, being homeschoolers doesn't guarantee that they won't be ignorant jerks. *sigh*

While John drove Eliyahu there, and back, the rest of us basically just hung around the house. Hans went off to work, but the guy he works for wasn't home, so nothing for him. And the guy who Zechy was working for yesterday didn't come by to pick him up, so he didn't get to work - which is a double pity, because the guy had said that he was going to teach Zechy to drive a tractor. Bummer.

Laundry got done, and I made a salad with Simcha's help which was voted most excellent, no small achievement when this one won't tolerate celery in her salad and that one doesn't want radishes and some want green pepper and some want red, but most don't want both. I'd like to do it again, Hashem willing. In my copious spare time and with all my extra energy.

Neil took over the kitchen for what seemed an exceptionally long time. I tried to remind myself that he doesn't cook like that every day, and when I'm cooking I'm not in and out like a flash, either. But it irks. Primarily because all by himself he so takes over every spare inch in the kitchen so that no one can get in there to do anything. In a household with eight people and one tiny kitchen it is massively unfair for one person to utterly monopolize the kitchen for his own eating for any length of time - *I* think - .

Don't want to talk or write about Neil. Actually I do want to talk about him. I want to *talk* about him to someone who could listen impartially and maybe reflect back to me a little. Such a person I do not have in my life. But just to complain about him is no good. It doesn't help, except in that perhaps it helps keep me from boiling over as often as I otherwise might. It's a problem, I am developing a real dislike for him that could easily cross the line into violent hatred. Two more months, I tell myself. Two more months.

We have more windows to put up in the small house, and I think that means all the windows can have glass and most of them open. We need a door, but our neighbour across the street says he knows where there is one we could have cheap. Very handy neighbours we have here, really.

Also, Megret sent me some $$ via paypal. I didn't ask for them, but told her if she sent some money it would certainly be useful. The thing is, she's been telling me she would send me stuff for two-and-a-half years, and nothing has shown up. So this was rather a surprize. It's not enough to make any real difference, but hell, it's a few dollars less we'll have to scrape up somehow. I am not complaining.

I didn't send a thank-you email yet. I'd feel guilty if i wasn't so tired.

It was a very good day. Havva's first day *not* going in to the base. She just has vacation days now until she gets out. Except for one day she has to show up for orders, and one other day for some kind of seminar about returning to civilian life. Weird, huh?

I have both dogs sleeping with me, and if my bed was big enough I would love it. I need a king sized bed for my animals. Oy.

It was very cold today, though. I've been downloading audiobooks from Librivox - I probably mis-spelled that. All free, all in the public domain. So I got the story of Doctor Dolittle, and Journey to the Interior of the Earth, and Sara Crewe, and ... I got a P.G. Wodehouse that is not a Bertie and Jeeves story. We are all enjoying them. It's wonderful fun.

I have to stop, I am just too tired and it is after 2am. Hopefully more soon. It is good to have had a good day.

I'm listening to the keys tapping on the keyboard

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06