Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Things accomplished - 2008-02-29

I'm grateful for: accomplishing most of what we set out to do today; all my animal friends; not having to get up early tomorrow.

TH brought me breakfast even before he'd said I had to be up. *sigh* Not enough sleep plus. We made it to the lab in time, but the dr. hadn't left the letter there it's called a tofess, for the test he wanted, so we had to just leave. The line at the post office was quite long, so we wandered around the shopping area, and ended up buying two small jigsaw puzzles and a set of Hebrew flash cards.

At the post office we paid one of the two bills we had, then headed off to the nutritionist. No, I'm wrong, we went to the animal shuk to look for chickens. But there were none. There were three really adorable goat kids, but they were all male, and we already have three of those. So we went to see the nutritionist, after stopping to eat some shawarma and falafel. Best not to talk to the nutritionist while starving, I think.

Nutritionist wants to break us - as in make us broke. So now I have a new mix of vitamin/mineral supplement to take, along with my vitamin C and now also he wants me taking omega 3 capsules. He gave us a paper which gave us 10shekel off, for what that's worth. It had a funny note, when he started talking about 'omega-shalosh,' it actually took a minute for it to register. Hebrew is fine, English is fine, but when they mix it up, well, sometimes it is very funny.

TH and I shopped, found a new pillow (we need loads, both pillows for the beds, and throw pillows) at a store where the last three times we shopped they were out. So that's good. One more is better than none. We managed to stay marginally within our budget for groceries, too. It's not a relief, we are still seriously crunched for money, but at least we will eat.

TH drove us back home, I fell asleep in the car and was enough asleep that when we got home I just got up and staggered into my room and fell right back asleep, almost. I slept until we were late for the chiropracter too, but that is TH's fault, he let the time go by. We drove quickly back to Be'er Sheva ('quickly' means speeding. I don't speed, and neither does John when he is driving me - usually), and were on time for the second of our two chiropractic appointments, but he treated us both anyway. It's the last of the appointments we've already paid for, now we have to wait a bit before I can possibly schedule some more. Sad, as it has been really helping me. Well, Hashem is in charge, for sure.

After that I did some more grocery shopping at another store, Zol Po ('Cheap Here'), while TH got his massage. Then I drove us home. Back at home I collapsed for a bit and TH went over to the moadohn (no idea how to transliterate that) where a memorial something was being held for a neighbour who died a month ago. S1 read The Fifth Elephant (Terry Pratchett) aloud to S3 and I, and we put S3 to bed. TH came back just a little bit after that.

I don't think I've written about this before, there is a lady I work with, who is an Xtian missionary on some remote island, well, she and her husband. She just sent me an email wanting me to justify why she should keep working on herself. She's a real piece of work generally, but I don't play into her games. This one was special though I thought.

It's not my job to tell her why she needs to work on herself. Either she sees the need, or she should probably stop wasting people's time about it. I'm writing this far more plainly than either she wrote or I responded. My response WAS much less elliptical than her email. It was actually kind of fun. It's a kind of mental jousting. Of course, she doesn't see it that way, she's merely living in that long, crocodile-laden river - you know. And for me it's not enough that I merely don't join her in taking a swim - I want to encourage her to step out herself, if possible.

It may not be possible, in which case she will eventually dump me. I won't engage with her, that's for sure. Experience is good for something.

I wonder, though, what it is about me -- I mean, an Xtian missionary? Well, whatever.

So after all that we all watched an episode of Firefly. Oops. It was so totally not okay for younger children to watch. I was completely unprepared for it, and then was working on keeping myself from blurting out some inappropriate things (in the middle of a torture scene, two men being given electric shocks and managing not to break by joshing with each other - I wanted to point out that it was inaccurate, they should have needed to catch their breaths after each shock. Not what I want to be talking to my kids about!) Unfortunately it was far enough into the episode that D3 probably would have as bad nightmares if I turned it off as if I let her finish it. Fortunately S3 was in bed asleep. I made it quite clear he is not to be watching it. I hope I have no reason to doubt that. My kids are pretty good about it, except sometimes S1 isn't tracking entirely what is going on around him and he misses things.

So, anyway, that wasn't so great. We all stayed up way too late (again) but no one has to get up early tomorrow. There's a little shopping to do, D2 is coming down for the weekend, and TH wants to finish the corral. That's about it. I mean, besides shabbos and all.

I am falling over tired, and can't really believe I stayed up to write this much, but I did. Must sleep now. If I don't write anything tomorrow pray that I am sleeping, 'kay?

I'm listening to the fan on the big computer. I wish I could turn it off. Ah, forget about it, I shut it down. Will need to do more on it tomorrow now. Oh, well.

Oh! I forgot to mention, more rockets here today. Two of my kids were in nearby Kfar Maimon when the tzeva adom (colour red) warning system went. They had no place to go. Fortunately nothing around here was hit - there's an awful lot of open space here, unlike in Sderot. I managed to avoid looking at the NYT article today. Nothing at all about it in any of the other major papers I occasionally read. Almost nothing about the accord in Kenya either. It's a funny old world, for sure, for sure.

Now I'm just listening to my thoughts.

Good night.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06