Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Stuff - 2008-11-18

I'm grateful for: a slight nap; decent-tasting hot tea; only two more days 'til I can collapse again.

I don't know why, but things have changed. When we first moved here, we heard every boom. Even after we'd been here more than a year, I could tune them out, but I was aware of them. During the most recent 'cease fire' (more than 40 kassams launched at Israel, and I don't know how many mortars), it was pretty quiet. So quiet in fact that days and week passed without hearing any booms or even thinking about them. Now that they've started again, after only a week or so, I actually don't hear them at all. Okay, don't hear most of them.

I don't think it's because I'm sick, maybe because they are coming so consistently that they have become a kind of background noise they never could be before? It's possible.

There was a boom just a few moments ago, but it is completely submerged by the shouting coming from the beit knesset (shul/temple). There is a meeting regarding what may happen with the people from Kfar Darom (one of the evacuated communities formerly in Gaza) who are still living here in temporary quarters - many with no jobs, no money, and no possibility of moving on with their lives. Thank you Olmert.

But anyway. The Kfar D'romit were offered to become members of the moshav. I don't remember now if they turned it down or if it just fell through. They were offered land to start their own new community conected to this moshav, but somehow that didn't work out either. Now they are up there, all moshav members and Kfar D'romit, which means we are not welcome (being only renters yet). I have no idea what they are arguing about precisely, but whatever it comes down to, it's about the evacuees being completely screwed by the gub'ment; and the moshav members, while sympathetic and wanting to help, not being willing to sacrifice the moshav in order to help them. Being Moroccan and Israeli, the only way they can do this is at top volume. I wish I could be hopeful that it can all be worked out some compromise reached which will preserve the moshav while allowing the Kfar D'romit to have real homes again. ...

*sigh*

I'd wanted to write more. Something, anything. I've kept this window open for quite a while, but I guess I am just too sick. Tomorrow, crack of dawn, going to the lab for blood tests. It's not enough I'm sick, I have to get dragged out of my house too early in the morning, even less sleep, it just drives me crazy.

Thursday we are going to Tel Aviv to renew the kids' U.S. passports. Another way too early day, and if I'm not already dying from this things, I probably will be at the end of that day. Whee, fun. Anyway, I don't want to be carrying on, so enough.

I am really sick and tired of being sick and tired. Again.

I'm listening to the sounds of my house getting ready for sleep.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06