Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Oy, oy, oy - 2009-02-06

I'm grateful for: surviving the day; S3 having a wonderful time; my cat Willow, dog Balta, dog Samantha, dog Chamudah and cat Joyce. The others haven't come near me, yet.

Today was hell. I'm still sick, with this bloody unbelievable cold. How can just a cold make a person so completely miserable? Still, I got up, ate, bathed, dressed, and made it out the door with S3 and TH. We drove to Netivot for Kleenex, because Israeli tissues were just not going to do it today. Then a straight shot up to Bareqet where S3 vanished, literally, between one breath and the next.

TH and I went to do some grocery shopping at a *really big* supermarket that has changed it's name I think three times since we first found it. It is still basically the same store, with some incredibly good deals, and too many square acres of floor to walk over. I used the wheelchair.

We also shopped for dresses for some kids in the U.S. whose mother asked me to buy them dresses in Israel - no luck - and for a bicycle for D3. Again, no luck. But we did find some wrist/ankle weights that seem like just the thing for me when I can't do any 'real' exercising, but still want to be doing something healthy. We didn't buy them, I am waiting to see if it is the right thing to do.

Got some lunch at a place that used to do the best shawarma in the centre. No longer. Oh, well.

After that we drove to Tel Aviv, tried to do some shopping but I was just too sick and tired to cope. We did drop in on D2 at her job, which is just around the corner from the school and clinic. She says it's a terrible job, but it's in a chain coffee house. They are all terrible jobs.

Headed over to the clinic, where my guy wasn't there, and wasn't there, and wasn't there. I went through almost an entire package of Kleenex - bearing in mind that I am sneezing and/or blowing my nose at least once ever two minutes generally more often. My nose, my nose, it hurts so bad!

Acupuncturist showed up an hour after we did. I am not happy. But, I got my treatment. He and I agreed that we didn't want to stop working on the long-term stuff because of a cold that will be better in a week, so no help with that misery. He sent me to get a concoction of Chinese herbs called, amazingly enough, 'cold.' Which cost 90 shekel (which is a huge amount of money for us), and tastes horrible. But D2 says that the people in her class who have used it say it is wonderful. She didn't have a cold, she had the flu, so she got something different I guess.

Finally finished in T.A., we drove back to Bareqet to pick up S3 and then at long last back home. Home by 10:10, so more than an eight hour day. My nose, sinuses, throat, it is just a misery. I won't go into any more detail, but I don't see how I will sleep tonight if I am still blowing my nose and sneezing every couple of minutes minimum.

And that's it. I get to stay home tomorrow, which hopefully means in bed. And drink tea and take my yucky herbs, and be very, very glad that TH never, ever, ever (almost) gets sick.

I'm listening to a humming in my ears that may not be outside of me.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06