Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Something under the bed is sighing - 2009-04-03

I'm grateful for: money in the bank; S3 almost ready for the army (scary!); an awful lot of help with the passover preparations.

I've been reading rather than writing, but tonight I'm going to write something just because. I had a very nice chat with Art, and I'm too tired to link it, sorry, but it was nice to make such a direct connection with a d'land friend.

I'm not sure even what I've been doing, there's been so much of it, with preparations for Pesach, and dealing with the still too-young kitten (too young to be without a mother). We have company in the form of a 10yo friend of S3's who is here for a couple of days, to visit with Kitten as well as S3. Visit has been an amazing success, and I've barely seen the two of them the whole time.

We have to get out of the house by 9am tomorrow in order to return friend to his parents before my appointment for acupuncture at 11:20. I really hope I'm not cutting it too close - it's never easy to get around Tel Aviv, and I am only trusting that the Friday before Pesach will not be a total nightmare.

The acupuncture is definitely making a difference, and I presume the Chinese herbs as well. I know this because I went on what was supposed to be a shorter than usual shopping expedition with S2 and D3 to Netivot, and it wasn't. Shorter than usual, I mean.

Going to the bank and the Orange store (mobile phones), and the old shuk was no problem. We went to the new kenyone (mall) and wandered about - shopped in a couple of stores and got for S2 almost all of the last things he needs before going in the army - a couple of padlocks, black electrical tape, lighters...

Then we went to yesh - that is the name of the supermarket and it means 'there is' or 'I have.' We should have been in and out. We allowed for a little extra time because of it being Thursday (main shopping day in Israel), and because of it being so close to Pesach (Passover). We were in line - this just in line, mind you - for over an hour. From when we joined the end of the line until we left the store - an hour and twenty minutes. In that time we travelled maybe forty feet. Unbelievable.

Okay, so I have trouble walking, I have no balance and extreme fatigue, sometimes I can't sit up or support myself, but the absolute, absolute only thing I simply cannot do is to stand in one place. I cannot stand. I can walk, but I cannot stand. I can sit, but not stand. To just stand is beyond agony. It seems to involve every single non-working part of my body. And I basically stood in one place, like a sardine in a tin the store was packed, for more than an hour.

By the time I got to the register finally, I actually put my head down on the top of the screen thing and cried a bit - it hurt that much. But I did it. Couldn't possibly have done it, if someone had asked me. I don't think I've stood that long in a couple of decades. So, in this delightfully negative way I have proof (to me, anyway) that it is worth it. All this shlepping to Tel Aviv, and the expense, and the horrible herbs, and the occasionally nasty comments from the acupuncturist. Oy.

Let me not need that sort of proof ever again, okay - question mark.

So I'm hurting now. Tomorrow I go to Tel Aviv and he will make nasty comments about my pain and my doing nothing - tomorrow he won't see what I did today, only that I sit in the wheelchair and moan a lot. He's a bit of a shmuck, that one. But he does know his needles.

Tired and in pain and I have a nasty but entirely non-serious infection which makes me that much more uncomfortable. Enjoying Kitten, and nachos (can't do real nachos in Israel, no chance, but we've come up with something that works for us), and my life generally looks good. I could do with a little less pain is all.

I know I'm no good at writing much here, but I am really glad I have this place, and that I have friends here who make me feel like it's worth it.

Be well, all, and Gd bless.

I'm listening to the dog sighing under the bed.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06