Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Bouncing back - 2009-09-11

I'm grateful for: getting a bunch of reading done; all kinds of walking and being active today; clean hair!

Today was a good day, although I don't feel so good. I managed to get up earlier than I have been - 10-ish. Ate, dressed, went grocery shopping after doing some Hebrew and math with S3. He's doing great, and helping him learn is helping me to learn Hebrew a bit better as well. Wow.

Shopping... I got a nifty new wall calendar. Not at all what I wanted, it's a white board with boxes and I can write in the dates and the name of the month on top. It makes up for being expensive by also being good for more than one year. I've got September up with אלול-תשדי with the high holidays marked - drat! I didn't get the first day of Sukkot. Well, I can always mark that in tomorrow. And S3's English birthday, which is October 4th.

S3 is turning 10, and he is super excited that he is going to have two numbers in his age.

Back to shopping. We went to Ace (used to sell hardware) and wandered around looking at this and that. While I was heading for the checkouts, S2 phoned me. Silly me, I forgot that M.S. won't permit me to talk and walk at the same time, so in answering the phone I broke my two. !$^^$#^!$# That HURT! I had to sit down for several minutes while S2 nattered at me about I don't even know what. He's coming home tomorrow on leave.

After that the shopping was largely uneventful. Looked high and low for a candy (or cheese-making) thermometer, couldn't find one anywhere. I'll have to find one online. S1 wants to make goat cheese and yogurt, and the thermometer is a must. We used to have one - actually more than one - but none of them survived this long and far. *sigh* Now I need to spend money on a thermometer and a pair of jeans for D3. I'm not unhappy about it, but I am broke. It's hard, the limited resources thing.

The most important part is that I walked, even after the broken toe, all across a mall, all over a large (warehouse style) supermarket. Driving home TH swerved or hit the brakes, I can't remember what, and my food got banged and I literally saw stars before my eyes. Yow! The toe doesn't look exciting at all, but it hurts like anything.

Back home, I made it upstairs okay, but walking down the hall the stupid little dog, that would be Chamudah, was wriggling and squirming so much, and i couldn't get her to stay away from me, and she wriggled right onto my poor toe. !!! More stars. So I largely stayed in bed for the rest of the day.

TH and I played a rail game, and TH read aloud from The Last Battle for S3 and I. He also made falafel, yum, and nachos for me. These are not real nachos by any stretch of the imagination, they are just the best we can do with Israeli mozzarella cheese and corn tortilla chips, sometimes Doritos, sometimes not. At least the hot peppers are real. *grin*

Then I got a bath, a proper bath with my hair washed. It's been more than a week and my hair had got beyond stringy, ugh! But when I have to wait until TH can wash my hair, there it is. As the children move on there will be more times available. Having only one full bathroom doesn't help, and having the laundry machines in the one full bathroom complicates things even more. It feels really good to have clean hair. I *have* managed to hose myself off in the shower, it's just that hair washing requires way more coordination than I can manage while not falling over taking a shower.

Last but not least, TH and I watched two episodes of the Dr. Who story The Romans with the first doctor, William Hartnell. That story has a good ending, lots of fun. We're working our way through the Dr. Who's, in order, for the first time ever (that is, the first time in order, we've seen most all of them before). It's fun and silly, and the kids like to join us so it's all good.

So, here I am, in my bed again, toe throbbing. My stupid little dog is curled up next to me - yes, I know she loves me, but she really has to learn that she can't keep squirming all over my feet when I am trying to walk. This isn't the first time it was a problem, just the most painful I can remember.

Oh, and I got a phone call from some company wanting a donation to help get dental care for children in need. Nothing particularly special about this except that I managed to get through the phone call, not entirely in Hebrew, but enough. I'm not quite ready to cope with phone calls on my own if I have a choice, but I am getting better, I am.

I'm listening to Mad Men, Season 2 episode 8. I don't even know why, but I am.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06