Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

It's just another day - 2009-12-08

I'm grateful for: progress in Hebrew; starting to improve physically, it's about time; somehow the money always works out.

Kitten is here to help me type so it's just as well my brain is blank. I waited up for MMF to call. Even cut short my evening with TH. I am such a damn fool. I know better. *sigh*

I just had to get up with the dogs, and Kitten caught me before I could get back to my room. I don't mind her sleeping with me, it's when she decides to start taking chunks out of me in the wee small hours of the morning, or when she decides she's had enough sleep and I can't get out of bed to let her out of the room.

I have my down comforter on the bed now, so I am guardedly hopeful she might be content to stay here tonight. It is always a treat when it finally gets cold enough that I can sleep with my comforter. It's not *really* cold enough, I end up sweating in here as often as not, but I have faith... ;-) And she has a truly wonderful purr. :-)

So, there's been stuff happening, but I haven't the brains to write any of it. Tomorrow, theoretically, we'll have the teacher coming, the one we pay to help us all with Hebrew. I don't know whether to have her work with Eliyahu on his letters or with me and Simcha on our - what is it you do to verbs? conjugating. We are all actually learning by leaps and bounds, it just seems to be a time when we are all surging forward. It's a good feeling, and much needed around now.

I hate the shorter days, and hate them even more when I am sleeping so late that I only get a few hours of daylight. Not much I can do about it, as it is after 2am and I am no where near falling asleep.

I put off trying to write anything and didn't do anything here for a couple of hours, hoping I might fall asleep, but, no luck yet.

S2 finally - FINALLY - got to talk to the mefeked - commander of his battalion, and to request a transfer to a different one. The commander turned out to be a real slimy piece of work. S2 stood up to him and wasn't caught by any of his verbal fancy footwork. He stuck to his guns and formally requested that the commander *sigh* Do His Job for heaven's sake! No more details, it would take too much typing, but I am so proud of S2 I could burst. For engaging in a verbal fencing match with an over-powered bully and coming out on top. It's just awesome, and so is he.

So, lessee, can I come up with anything else to write about? S3 had a very successful adventure, riding the bus to J'lem, going to a party in Ma'ale Adumim, spending the night with FB back in J'lem, and then riding the bus home alone. He came home with a new hat and a nada-leg0 set that is disappointing (who's surprized), but I have faith that we will manage to make it work out somehow. Also some new P0kemon cards, but I wouldn't know anything about that. ;-)

S1's trip wasn't anywhere near as successful, but he did pick up a few books and at least he got out of the house for a day. That must have done him some good.

I ordered a replacement battery to be sent to RS, hoping she'll be able to bring that along with all the other stuff I've sent to her when she comes in a few weeks. Please, Hashem! Although none of it would be a crisis, the computer is awfully expensive, and the jeans are not only expensive but wouldn't be able to be replaced. So, we hope. So much stuff sent to her, and it's not so good, but it wasn't by choice, so I have to trust that Hashem had a hand in it and that it will work out somehow.

We also did a quick, preliminary stab at our taxes for this year. I know, I'm crazy, but I can never wait if I can get it done, or even partially done. I can't stand having them hanging over my head - even if we are going to owe money. This year, again, we are expecting a refund, unless they change the laws and forms in the next few weeks. So, I'm pretty happy about that. This would be the U.S. taxes - we don't have to file an income tax return in Israel. It's all handled by the employer. If one of us were self-employed it would be different. So, that's all good.

And, that's all for now. I'm tired and want not so much to sleep, since sleep eludes me, but to not be so tired tomorrow. And less pain would be good.

I'm listening to Kitten purring, and the washing machine. That's all.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06