Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Writing - 2010-09-30

Unbelievable. I've finally started writing my great American novel. Okay, so it's not a novel. And I'm Israeli now. But after all these years and all sorts of fretting, I've started writing a book that I know I can write, that is in me to write, and I feel reasonably certain I will be able to follow through to the end.

Weird.

I'm not getting ahead of myself, but I am wondering do I try and shop it to publishers? Do I self-publish it or just put it out on the web for people to find. Not today's problem, but I am aware that there are plenty of avenues and I'm not so interested in making a million bucks (not that I'd argue, mind you) as I am in having it read. Which is how I know I'm a 'real' writer. *big wicked grin*

Yesterday - it was rough. But we all did okay. I made it out to the sukkah for a last meal in the evening. We watched Wh1skey G@lore and it was a delightful movie, and a good length for us all to be watching last night. Short and sweet. The kids all enjoyed it.

I am again full of a lust for island living. I think I would do very well on a very small island with limited contact with the rest of the world. *sigh* Maybe when I publish my Great American Novel (G.A.N.) and become independently wealthy. Yeah, right.

The rest of the evening was all Terry Pr@tchett. TH read aloud from Going Postal, and S1 read from Interesting Times. I was in a sleep-deprived haze which always makes it good to be being read aloud to if you can't sleep.

When everyone had packed off to bed, the phone started ringing. RS's phone rang sometime around 2am again. I spoke with MMF for a good while, mostly about perps and why they do what they do, and about little bodies and how they differ from adult bodies. I didn't actually ask how she was doing, 'cause I was all caught up in stuff in my own head, which makes me feel a bit bad about myself but there it is. I'm a bit of a selfish git.

This morning I was trying to sleep, having really odd dreams that felt 'meaningful' except that when I thought about them I couldn't find anything of very great meaning in any of it. S3 kept popping into my room. I guess he was all alone being awake and couldn't control himself. *sigh* So I've been up too long, but on the bright side while I was lying in bed not ready to move but not able to sleep, I realized that I have a book inside of me, and what that book is. :-)

Since I've always been a writer, I write constantly, I write too much, I write compulsively and about anything and everything, I'm glad I can finally feel like I am writing something with some hope of being finished. Oh, and readable. That would be nice, too.

Anyway, S3 will be in here shortly, I got myself fifteen minutes to wrap things up and I'd better get to it, then he will read some Thomas the Tank Engine to me and I may read some of My Grandmother's Stories to him, and hopefully by then TH will be back home from beit knesset.

I am so tired. Hopefully I can nap today? A person can hope.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06