Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Reading aloud - 2007-05-13

I'm grateful for: good books and a family that likes to read aloud as much as I like to be read aloud to; hearing Neil's voice for a few minutes; my wonderful home.

*sigh* I didn't get to sleep much last night. So much for my dreams of feeling almost human. I'm going to try for another night of sleep tonight since after that the week will simply suck any hope of sleeping in right out of me. It would certainly be better if I could fall asleep at night.

Today pretty much all I did was stay in bed and listen to books being read aloud. Wintersmith by Terry Pratchett and In Her Shoes by Jennifer Weiner. It might give you an idea of how much reading aloud we did that both books are more than half finished, maybe even close to being finished.

I did make it to the salon for kiddush, which was a treat, and out to feed the chickens, which was slightly less of one, because I got out late and had to come back in quickly. No chicks yet, but there is time. I can't say how much of a bummer it will be if we get no chicks this year. Just one that survives would be an incredible morale booster. Prayers are welcome. ;-)

I talked to my sister tonight, and even more surprizing, heard from Neil briefly. From what I can tell he's landed on his feet again, and things seem to be going okay. The strong shekel compared to the dollar has given him a hit in his income, which is in dollars. I am not a saint, I feel a little bit of nasty satisfaction at the thought. It's not that I want him to really suffer. Just a little bit of minor suffering, you know? Ah, well, I am far from all better.

Diana says she is actually mailing some of our stuff that she's had, some of it for a year. I don't believe it, will only believe it when I see it. But she says.

Hans' birthday is Thursday, and we've still no word, so I guess his birthday present will languish until way after his birthday. I just hope he knows we are thinking of him, especially on the day. I hope it's not a bad birthday.

I've been feeling a bit rotten that I haven't been leaving notes or comments for friends, or even responding to the ones left for me here. I don't now what to say. Seriously. My mind just goes blank, so I've been writing nothing. See, in person I'm a great listener. That doesn't work so well in print. You can't see me nodding my head. :-7

Well, I'm going to try and get some sleep. It's not yet 1am, so if I can fall asleep (asking for miracles) I'll be able to wake up before noon and still get a full night's sleep. A person can hope.

I'm listening to Xenomorph: Post Human

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06