Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Been busy - 2009-06-27

I'm grateful for: actually falling asleep, even if I didn't manage to stay asleep; all my family here, happy, and asleep; still enjoying the feeling of post-Peppito quiet.

Life continues to be busy, things are pretty good overall. If I don't think about money, things are good. It can be hard not to think about money. *sigh*

Went for acupuncture today. I told him I haven't been sleeping. He asked why and I said I don't know. I lie down with the light off and my eyes closed, and lie here awake. I am not brooding over anything, my thoughts are not racing. Often enough, I'm bored. Last night (this morning) I finally fell asleep around 6am. He responded that then I had to get up. And so, he gave me two needles which had something to do with 'earth' and the heart. These things mean nothing to me, but D2 is always interested.

He said it should help me to sleep. So far I've fallen asleep twice, once before sundown, so I had to wake up for licht-bentsching (candle-lighting) and kiddush. And before midnight, and was woken up when some girl screamed outside, and the dogs went off. Just so know one wonders, TH went outside and checked and couldn't find anything wrong, so we're guessing kids playing on the moshav. Still, now that I can fall asleep, I need to somehow work on being able to *remain* asleep. Whee.

While we were in Tel Aviv, we picked up S2, on his way home for the weekend, and D2 and her boyfriend Natan also rode home with us. Our car is not big. They squished in the back uncomplaining - D2 would never have, except I suspect that it was okay being squished against Natan. :-)

Once we got home there were some groceries to unload and I staggered off. We held a birthday party for D2, since none of us were available and she was in school on her birthday.

She was very happy with her presents - a digital camera from me (and TH, theoretically), camera case from D3, coloured pencils from S3, recipe book from S1, and a really terrific herb book from Natan. S2 felt bad he had no present for her, but it was just bad luck and timing.

Anyway, D2 was quite happy, so it was all good. She liked her cake too, which is good since we had to search at least five stores before we found just the one she wanted. She was almost out of luck on that one.

It is nice having a house full, and it is still quiet relative to when Peppito was here, so we aren't being overwhelmed with noise and bother, either. D2 and Natan are taking the train back up north tomorrow night, so it will hopefully be not too crazy. And S2 is allowed to get back to base an hour later on Sunday, which means not having to leave the house at 4:30am! I'm hoping at the end of this weekend to be in better shape than I was after the last one.

TH is supposed to be keeping an ear out for the dogs and minding Kitten, while I am supposed to be sleeping. I suspect he is asleep, however, as Balta is barking her fool head off outside my window, and he is doing nothing. I wish I could get up easily, I would at least get the dog in. It's been grueling, physically, and the body is almost completely shot. The heat isn't helping with that, of course.

I hope tomorrow is still relatively quiet, and pleasant.

I'm sure there's been much I didn't write about. I took S3 to the beach in Ashkelon, where we met up with FB and a friend of his, Hanna. I don't know if I liked Hanna or not - a somewhat disturbing person. She said that FB is her best friend, which if she wasn't such a disturbing person would have been very nice to hear. As it was, I said it was nice to hear, and I've been mulling it over, off-and-on, ever since.

I talked to FB today and he said he finds her disturbing, too. I really don't understand him...

S3 had a wonderful time at the beach, and being with his uncle. I had a wonderful time sitting quietly by myself and reading. It really was wonderful. There was a lovely breeze off of the sea, and it was quiet, the beach being barely occupied during the day on a Thursday. I can't remember the last time I was just alone and able to read and there were no interruptions.

Grocery shopping happened over three days, and it was grueling, in part because of my physical condition, and in part because nothing worked out. The stores I went to didn't have what I needed, and/or closed as I came up to the door. At times I couldn't shop using the wheelchair, due to there not being enough people to push me and the grocery cart. I CAN walk, hanging on to a grocery cart, but it's painful and exhausting. And since I was doing this without TH, and S1 doesn't yet have a drivers' license, I had to do all the driving as well.

Oh, and I forgot to mention TH got into a car accident. He backed out of a parking space right into another car. It had it's own TH twist, because most people when getting out of a parking space in an over-crowded parking lot go slowly, even inch out, particularly if they are driving a car with absolutely no rear visibility - seriously, you can't see out the back of the car while driving, either by turning around or by using the mirrors. TH, on the other hand, takes one look out as much of the back as he can, and hits the gas. Crunch!

It wasn't a bad accident, although given the fiberglass-and-plastic nature of these cars, I expect it will be expensive to repair. Thank GOODness that TH's employer will pay for it all! I hope to never own another car, at least as long as TH is working, and driving.

Papers were exchanged, and TH prepared to leave the area, and what did he do? He took one look out the back and hit the gas! This time we didn't hit anything (or anyone) Barukh Hashem! but I couldn't help remarking that ANY OTHER PERSON having just gotten in to an accident like that, would at the very least have driven more carefully for the first mile or so? At least? *sigh* One of us is going to be the death of the other. I expect I will either die of an apoplexy, or kill him.

He baked an apple pie for shabbos, which has absolutely nothing to do with the accident, but is memorable because he does make absolutely the best apple pie ever. This wasn't one of his best-ever apple pies, actually, it's been a couple of years now since he baked one. But it was still pretty darn good. I hope he keeps it up and is turning out those perfect pies once again. They aren't so much to look at, he doesn't do pretty, bakery-looking pies. They just taste like heaven. :-)

There is a fly on here and it is driving me crazy. I'm trying to ignore it as best I can, because I don't want to be swatting flies on shabbos. But the flies here are simply unbelievable. They fly right into your eyes and nose, the literally bounce off of you they hit you so hard flying into you. I don't get it. It's like an ordinary house fly hopped up on speed or something. So ignoring it is being just a little bit difficult. Maybe if I am asleep I won't notice it so much. If I can sleep with it in here.

I'm going to give it a try, anyway.

I'm listening to my fan, and the really quite wonderful silence.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06