Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Sleep - 2006-10-03

I'm grateful for: An easy fast; finishing a book I've been working on for a while; food

Huh. I thought I was going to bed. I guess I'm sitting here watching the system upgrade download though. Shows what I know.

Today was Yom Kippur, a fast day. So most of the day revolved around not eating food, not thinking about not eating food, coming up with ways of distracting ourselves from the fact that were weren't eating food (or drinking water), and trying not to be driven crazy by the two youngest, who are too young to fast. A 6yo's antics are SO much more annoying when you are tired, hungry, thirsty, and he is munching on a bag of potato chips.

I didn't get enough sleep again. I woke up at 8am. I don't get what is up with that. If I'm going to wake up so early, why can't I go to sleep before midnight? It makes sense to me. Of course, that meant I napped a bit during the day, which definitely helped the time pass more quickly.

I didn't manage a full fast. A small handful of potato chip crumbs (from the bag Eliyahu ate most of), a sip of water and an apple cut up were what I ended up with. Not too bad. When it became obvious I was getting sicker from not eating, I ate what felt right. I did okay.

There was some jigsaw puzzle doing, I read some Animorphs to the kids, John read some Animorphs to the kids. After sundown we made popcorn and baked potatos with cheese and butter, ate some energy bars and fruit and nuts and watched The Borrowers. It was Havva's idea, and I think it was a good one.

Other than that, a completely uneventful day here. That's not a bad thing.

Right now I'm wishing I was asleep because I'm thinking ahead to tomorrow when I am supposed to go to the dentist for 10:00am for a cleaning. If I fell asleep this minutes I'd only get about six hours sleep. *sigh* What is Hashem thinking?

Havva had John looking for other moshavim - she doesn't want to deal with commuting from the one we saw on Sunday and wants to be closer to the sea if possible. I dunno. Whatever it takes, I guess. I'm not as young as she is, and I think I have a better grasp on acceptance, but she's going to drive us through the paces of trying to find the place that suits her anyway, despite the fact that she has plans to move out next year (loose plans) and go to university.

I am not forceful enough, and no one listens to me. *sigh* Such is life.

I'm listening to They Might Be Giants: Istanbul Not Constantinople

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06