Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

After midnight already - 2006-10-04

I'm grateful for: an (almost) empty inbox; progress on the jigsaw puzzle; home-baked healthy (relatively) brownies.

I don't think I can remember this morning. It's been quite a day. Eliyahu's actual 7th birthday celebration. Whee!

I woke up at 8am. I seem to have an internal alarm set for 8, which would be fine if I could fall asleep before midnight. For instance, it is just after midnight now, and I am unlikely to even be in bed for an hour. I'm waiting for John, Zechy and Neil to get back from Jerusalem. What a day.

Once it was clear I was awake to stay, I tried to make a dent in my email, and I was rather successful. There is someone I feel strongly that I wanted to write back to - quickly. She wrote to me two days ago, and I still haven't been able to write back. In large part because I need to concentrate for this one, and I haven't had a chance yet. It is much harder to concentrate when way sleep-deprived, and of course it is never quiet here.

I did manage to write to quite a few people, though. I am mostly caught up, all the email in my inbox fits on one page. For me that's caught up.

I was moving around better than I had any right to expect, and folded some laundry as well as getting up and down stairs a few times. But the dizziness is worse now, so I'm not moving any more than I can help.

John went out with Hans, Simcha and Eliyahu to pick up Havva and a whole lot of books from the navy library. I can't tell you how much fun it is to have these books and for the kids it was better than candy. They got pretty fairly distributed, and Havva gave Eliyahu a 'Jane's,' because there was nothing really suitable for him, and at least the Jane's have lots of pictures. :-) Neil had gone to Jerusalem, so it left Zechy and I alone in the house. You think that made it quiet for me? Silly. It meant that Zechy got to take advantage of having me all to himself for the afternoon. Mostly worked on the jigsaw puzzle - made lots of progress - and talked about movies and whatnot. That dratted jigsaw puzzle. None of us particularly like the picture, and there is much foot dragging on working on it. At the same time no one wants to just scrap the thing. So progress today is good, and moves us closer to the day we can never look at the thing again.

John and everyone on that trip stopped to cut bamboo on the way home from the base. I haven't seen the bamboo to know if there is enough and if it is tall enough. It is wonderful to live someplace you can just go and cut bamboo by the roadside, I will say.

Eliyahu spent pretty much the whole day besides when on that trip watching the various dvd's he got for his birthday. It makes me very sad. But what can I do, besides try and get us out of here, as soon as possible? I just don't know.

John left with Zechy just after supper to go put up this succah, leaving me to get Eliyahu to bed with Hans' and Havva's not very energetic help. Fortunately at this point he has a routine, and I just have to nudge him a little to get things rolling. Hans helped him clean up in our room. Then I read some of the Megamorphs book to El'yah and Simcha before he went off to bed.

After that, Havva made brownies (Yum!) and I've been fielding chatter from Simcha, Hans and Havva for most of the rest of the night.

Zechy phoned around 10:30 which is how I know he was cold. :-/ I phoned John just a few minutes ago and he said they were getting the roof on. So who knows when they will be home?

I also don't know if Neil hooked up with them or ended up taking the late bus home. I forgot to ask, and of course John didn't volunteer any information.

I'm so tired I'm loopy, and the world is spinning. So that's what I've got for tonight. I really hope I manage to get some sleep tonight. Or rather, to sleep in a bit tomorrow. Since it's already after midnight.

I'm listening to Metallica: Killing Time

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06