Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Avoidance - 2006-10-15

I'm grateful for: finishing the first Megamorphs book; sleeping children; being halfway through the month and the food/money is mostly holding out

I'm avoiding today. Avoiding, avoiding, avoiding. I don't know why. Diana called and I avoided talking to her. I was avoiding reading my buddies here and avoided writing for over an hour. I have so far avoided writing the thank you note to my mother. Gotta get to it sometimes. Ugh.

I don't know if there is some big thing I am avoiding (it doesn't really feel like it), or if I am just in a mood to put things off and, well, avoid whatever I can do. Not things like reading to my kids, but anything that seems to be interacting with other people who are not my kids. Unhelpful.

Havva's friend Havva's visit has been going really well except for one wrinkle. She decided tonight that she just had to get home to Jerusalem so she could get to her ulpan in the morning, but, there was no bus. The bus is scheduled. She was at the bus stop well on time. But no bus.

She had to phone so John could pick her up and bring her back here and she is spending another night. She is certainly welcome (we initially thought she was staying 'til Monday), but hard for her. She took two phone calls that I heard, telling people (I assume her roommate and her not-a-boyfriend) what had happened, and discussing missing the class, and that there is a test coming up and so on. Honestly she worries too much. But, I'm not her mom.

But it's been rather delightful. We don't converse easily, but I expect that is as much because she is my daughter Havva's friend and I am just her friends mother as because there is anything not right between us. She is thirty, but looks and acts much younger. She talked about wanting to join the Mossad and be an assassin. With absolutely no idea even what the job might entail - I mean, other than killing people. In some ways she is very young.

I pretty much didn't leave my room today, which was really okay with me. I needed the rest and the break. The kids and I worked a jigsaw puzzle, that, with five of us working on it, we finished in just about no time. That was fun. And I finished reading the first Megamorphs book aloud. Before I had even put it down, Zechy was back with the second Megamorphs book. They are trying to get me, I swear. :-) I've also been reading Icefields by Thomas Wharton, and making progress in it. So I may actually finish one of my books, you never know.

I'm bleeding again and it's crazy, I'll have sudden heavy bleeding which then stops and almost nothing for hours or days. Well, a day, anyway. I told John we have to make another appointment with the OB, not wait until November, because I just can't go on living like this. Between dentist appointments and neuro appointments and my appointment with the misrad risshui (I just can't transliterate that) and so on, I have no idea how or when we will manage it. So it may be November anyway. But, I am hoping we can see the dr. sooner. I am not excited about major surgery or losing parts of my body that Hashem put in there - but I really cannot go on living like this.

I can't think of anything else. We had a bit of a meeting tonight. I basically sat there waiting for it to be over. Didn't want to hear what anyone else had to say (avoidance), and had nothing to say for myself. Actually I had plenty to say, but none of it was a topic for the meeting. I haven't been gladder to have a meeting end since I came to Israel.

John left right after sundown for Jerusalem to take down the sukkah he put up last Thursday week. He took Hans and Zechy with him, which made for a rather odd night here at home. Quiet, and Havva got Eliyahu into bed (as much as was necessary, he really puts himself to bed these days). I watched a bit of an episode from the new Scooby-doo television show that we have on dvd now. It was fun, and quite true to the original show. Yippee!

We are all, all looking forward to resuming a 'normal' schedule, and life getting hopefully a bit more routine now that the holidays are over. John is planning on going back to Shoqeda one day this week, too. So much for a routine, maybe. We'll have to see.

Okay, I can't think of anything else, and it is almost 1:30am so I am going to stop this, read a bit, and hopefully fall asleep. Not avoiding that! Oh, just one more thing. We've decided to leave the sukkah up for a while. It is so VERY pleasant knowing that people can't look into our house from the street. I am so okay with that. Yeah.

I'm listening to motors - the fan motor in the computer, the tape player motor which Eliyahu somehow manages to make it keep going, some motor (I think from a generator) outside

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06