Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

After midnight - 2006-12-31

I�m grateful for: getting to talk a bit; finishing an easy jigsaw puzzle in one day; a Twilight Zone and popcorn.

It�s just after midnight, which makes it the 31st, my sister�s birthday. Happy birthday Diana!

I actually attended a telephone conference meeting tonight. After I had phoned my sister and managed to talk to her for about thirty or forty-five minutes. It was really good for me. I asked everyone to clear out of the room, and I talked to her about John, and Neil, and a bit about the old landlord stealing $500 from us, and the possibility that he might get away with another $1000, and stress and the new house and telling John he�s going to have to live in the cottage, and that I haven�t told Neil he�s going to have to live there because we aren�t exchanging two words together, and, well, I guess I was talking rather fast, but it was good and I really needed it.

I hadn�t planned on attending the meeting, because I really didn�t feel I could stand to be in a meeting with Neil, but somehow that is how it ended up. Not too terribly, he left the room several times, which allowed me to talk freely for a bit. And I got to say in front of him about our financial situation - that is the landlord stealing the money - which he had probably conveniently manage to miss through completely separating himself from the family in all ways he can manage.

I ended up ranting a bit, too, about people whose behaviour hurts other people, but they choose not to change it, even after it is pointed out to them that they are hurting other people. I likened them to small children stamping a foot and saying �I won�t!� and said how I found it utterly impossible to respect them. It was a pretty strong statement, and actually I�d almost said something even stronger, but was able to catch myself up. Bottom line is a person, man or woman, who hurts other people *knowing* that they are hurting others, and chooses to make no effort to change what they are doing ... well, I can�t think of anything lower on the planet. Problem with that is, I live with at least two of them. I either have to find a way to tolerate this about them, or at least to tolerate them, despite how loathesome I find this about them. Not because I feel I owe anything to Neil or John or to anyone who would act like them ... but because this has got to be one of the most normal things on the planet.

This is about people, human beings. Lots of us have little behaviours that aggravate, annoy or hurt (in a little way) other people that we can�t be bothered to or wouldn�t think to change just because some one or some people don�t like it. That John and Neil are hurting other people in a larger way doesn�t make anything they are doing unusual or different.

It doesn�t make it okay. And, I deserve better than this. I do.

Don�t I?

I do.

Anyway, meeting was good, talking to Diana and getting some of the shit out of my head was good. I also phoned Jessica�s home briefly to find out that they are getting ready for some party tonight. Diana was going to the party. I�m jealous. Such is life.

John was working on one of the unworking doors tonight. He had to drill out the lock cylinder just to be able to replace the doorknob assembly. I don�t know if he got anything put together for it, but it�s one of the things that marks a tiny little bit of forward progress here. Little by little.

Even if the landlord succeeds in getting away with more money, in three or four months we should be in a more comfortable financial situation. It�s just a question of surviving that long. Scary. If the landlord doesn�t rip us off for the extra $1000, then we should be doing almost okay after next month. Pray for us, anyone who does praying.

After the meeting, Havva worked on her application to the University of Chicago, which is where my sister did her undergraduate studies. Havva doesn�t really think she wants to go to UofC, but thinks it�s cool to apply and would be a real hoot to be accepted. I think any school would be foolish not to bend over backwards to get her. She really is that good. But then, I really want her to go to Be�er Sheva, �cause then she can live at home. ;-) Or at least be nearby.

Then Zechy came in with a book he�s reading by a navy writer who spent a year or so in the Mediterranean with the fourth (I think) fleet in the early 1950�s. It�s great, fascinating, educational. Tonight he read a lot about Beirut and some about Lebanon in general, including a visit to one of the arab refugee camps outside of Beirut. These would be arab refugees from what had just become the state of Israel. Like I said, educational. Then he moved on the Crete, he includes lot of historical information, correlates some of it to myths and legends from the area. Just fascinating. Don�t ask me the name of the book, though, I haven�t a clue.

At midnight, or almost, I told Zechy to stop as I need to get some sleep. Unfortunately the internet is gone again. We have a technician showing up on Monday, but until then I will either be writing offline or showing up intermittently at best. I did manage to answer an important email tonight, but otherwise it�s all just a loss. Okay, maybe not a loss. But dead aggravating. How will I distract myself from all of my troubles without the internet? And keep up with the news? Gah!

Enough. I really do need to get some sleep. Tomorrow John is driving Havva to the train station, fortunately not as early as had been. And then is working from home. I wonder what that means this Sunday? They have all been different so far.

At least we got my change of address in to B�tuach Leumi. Hopefully I won�t be losing any income from them anytime soon, again.

What else? I�m tired. John is snoring. Goodnight.

I�m listening to: You guessed it! John snoring. *sigh*

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06