Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Still sick, and prattle - 2007-01-22

I'm grateful for: Balta lying on my leg; Neil away for two whole nights; not needing breathing assistance.

No one wants to hear about how sick I am - especially me. So we'll skip that part and talk about ... what?

There's a little old lady a couple of houses down from us who is named Simcha. We call her Giveret Simcha (like saying Mrs. Simcha) to distinguish her from my daughter Simcha. She was telling Havva that if I was sick I should be outside sitting in the sun. Havva told her no, I wasn't up to that, and Giveret Simcha replied that I must be VERY sick. Yeah.

Havva told me about that after she got home.

John went in to work today, and while there found out that apparently having a really bad relapse is fairly normal for this particular 'flu bug. I guess it's happened to lots of people. So I don't have to be so worried, I guess.

The other thing I found out today is that the hospitals are all over-crowded, with people who ought to be in i.c.u. being put in regular hospital beds because there's no room in the i.c.u.'s - all because of this 'flu. Pretty scary, no? So the people who worry about these things are now worried that if there was some kind of catastrophe (besides a nationwide 'flu epidemic which has put record numbers of people in the hospital for help breathing), then there would be no place to put all the injured or sick people. I suppose it's a good thing there are people who worry and plan for that sort of thing - because heaven knows it happens - but for me that would be just borrowing trouble. Like it isn't bad enough.

So I guess today I can be grateful that however sick I am, I don't need to be hospitalized with this thing.

Grateful, too, that Neil left today for Jerusalem and announced he wouldn't be back until Wednesday.

I'm not backing down, but I am thinking of putting off his eviction at least until I can sit up and talk. I just don't think I'm up for that kind of confrontation in my current state. But I have a couple of days to get better enough, too. We'll just have to see.

I missed a call on my cell phone, and in trying to retrieve the number I discovered there was a voice mail. You can tell I don't check my messages very often. Well, it turned out to be from Eliyahu, who had phoned me sometime early in the month. I don't know when/how I missed it, but he left quite a message, several minutes long at least, with him saying 'hello,' and giggling a bit, and long silences.

Oh. My. Gd. I am SO bored! That is undoubtedly the worst of all of this. Bored and my eyes are hurting. Bored. Bored, bored, bored, bored, bored. So there. Yep, I'm sure a sparkling writer these days.

My mother has asked me twice to tell her about my new home. I put her off. Not because I don't want to tell her, but because I have no idea what to say. There are no words that would give her a sense of the place. Describing it by number of rooms, or, well, anything that comes to mind is just silly. It wouldn't tell one anything more than one of those realtor's sheets - less even.

Because they don't build houses here like they do anywhere else I've ever been. And they don't build them now the way they did in the 1970's (when this house was built), which is rather different from the original moshav house (1950's). They are both concrete construction. In the original moshav house the floor is only tile over mortar over sand. Seriously. It has three rooms - two bedrooms and a kitchen/salon. People raised entire Large families in these houses. It helps that winter here isn't too serious I'm sure.

Neither of these houses would pass any sort of inspection in the majority of the civilized world. Which doesn't mean they aren't quite nice and habitable. The doorways are short and narrow, but the ceilings are quite a bit higher than you find in the U.S., even in 'luxury' built homes. All the windows are covered with triecim (that word I can't figure out how to transliterate - singular, 'treece') which are like shutters, at least in this house (in other houses they might act like metal shades, or pocked screens) which exist primarily to block the too-strong sun in the summer. Although they are doing a good job of helping to keep the heat in during this colder-than-normal winter.

In any event, I can't really describe them. And I certainly can't describe to my mother (with her extremely narrow and deliberately limited worldview) just what it is that makes this place so wonderful for us. It's ... the air. And, the people. And, the fields behind our house. And, the shed, and the lulim (chicken houses) and the quiet at night and, well, I don't know. I just don't have words. But it is right for us. Beautiful to me.

Havva and I agreed that we want to plant a tree or two, or ..) for Tu b'Shevat. Which means I have to find out where one buys trees. I'm thinking some kind of nut tree, and maybe an apricot tree. Apricots are worrying because they can be bad with goats. I don't think pomegranates grow on trees, though. A pomelo tree. That would do it. My kids absolutely adore pomelos.

Damn, the 'flu is getting the best of me again. I have to stop, rest, maybe even (dare I hope for it?) sleep. Unsurprizingly, I didn't sleep well. But some of my dreams were a hoot.

Anyway, good night.

I'm listening to the computer's fan. That's all. *sigh*

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06