Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

About the gecko - 2007-04-18

I'm grateful for: making it through a hard day so well; critters, both at home and at the zoo; going to sleep tonight without a gecko in my room.

I'm really not up to much, not only are my arms like lead, my fingers are failing too. Still, it was a good day. Hard, but good.

Yesterday we made it to the shuk and to the zoo. High points for me were seeing the Syrian brown bears and the lemurs. The lemurs had several youngsters (I have no idea how young/old) who did all the incredibly cute things that young do. Bouncing and jumping on the adults, climbing, or rather trying to climb the netting and failing mostly with many tumbles onto various adults. Cuddling, competing a bit.

The bears were just adorable show-offs. Between the two I'd be hard put to say which was favourite, although I find it easier to write about the lemurs.

By the time we got home I was pretty much like cooked spaghetti. Which, if I remember, we had for supper.

Today John went to work, Zechy went to work, and the rest of us coped, somehow. Hard day, like I said, but nothing went horribly wrong, some laundry got done, people ate and so on.

Oh, I forgot the special thing. Last night a gecko got into my room. John tried to catch it to put it out, but it went behind the aron so instead I spent the whole night waking at intervals to see it scuttling across the ceiling or sometimes the wall. I was absolutely terrified the thing would crawl across me when I was asleep. I actually love lizards. And I can't explain where this particular fear came from, but it was quite real and vivid. As long as it stayed on the ceiling and walls I was fine, and if I'd been awake it wouldn't have bothered me. So, I didn't sleep very well.

I don't know if I wrote since we heard from Hans. He is starting basic training at Fort Benning in Georgia May 2nd or 3rd. I forget but I'm sure he won't. He is very happy. I'm happy for him, and just wish I could be there at least for one visit, maybe when he finishes basic, or to give him somewhere to come home to on leave. He'll got to his grandfather's house, and I suppose that's fine. I can't help it, I'm his mother. There it is.

I really am in bad shape, so that's all for now. Too tired to even end this. Good night.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06