Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

I'm back. - 2007-05-07

I'm grateful for: being able to post an entry again, at least for today; a new vcr; a really great deal on tickets to the U.S.; reflexology; home roasted sunflower seeds; possible chicks in the nest; less money worries; a possibility of a better, if smaller, car; feeling stronger; indoor plumbing and antibiotics.

Hi again! Did anybody miss me? Phew, that was the longest few hours of my life! Seemed like a couple of weeks - oh, wait a minute ... I guess it WAS a couple of weeks. So, did anyone miss me? ;-)

I just want to comment on a bit of irony. I wanted to buy a gold membership. For a while I wanted to buy a gold membership. I had the money. For some reason d'land wasn't accepting or wasn't set up to receive payments from Israel - at least that is my guess, since I was using an American credit card and also tried to do it through paypal. So when I had the money I couldn't buy a gold membership. Now, when (in the first couple of days) I would have liked to buy a gold membership, I lacked the dollars. How considerate of Andrew that he mentioned that overseas people shouldn't have a problem buying a membership NOW. Well, it's two weeks later, I might be able to come up with the dollars, but now I'm not sure I want to buy a gold membership. I'm sure if things run smoothly for a while I'll get over my snit. And I *do* believe in supporting the sites and services I use. But for now, not one bloody cent.

Anyway, it's good to be back.

So much, so very much has happened and I am just not even going to try. I've started going for acupuncture, and also have had two reflexology treatments. So far, as far as I can tell, the reflexology is doing me far more good than the acupuncture. I get sixteen treatments total according to my health plan. I'm thinking of cancelling some of the acupuncture treatments and asking for the reflexology instead. It's so complicated, though. I wonder is health care is as complicated in England? It wasn't complicated in the U.S., just bloody expensive. Choices, choices...

Havva and Zechy have round-trip tickets to the U.S., leaving May 21st and returning July 12th. It's soon, it's scary, and it was WAY cheaper than we could have imagined. Not to mention, we were able to pay for the tickets in shekels, which preserves my tiny cache of dollars and gives us way more breathing room financially. I am going to miss them terribly, and we will have only two children here for seven weeks. Gack! It's kind of unimaginable. Fortunately, the children sort of expand to fill all available space and time, so I am not worried about running out of things to do, or having it too easy. :-)

Hans has started his training in the army. I don't know where he is or what he is doing as he hasn't any real ability to communicate with us. He's not allowed email, and as of his last phone message (he phoned at 4am our time) he hasn't yet got an address he can give us. I've been taking the phone to bed with me so if he gets the chance to call at whatever hour hopefully I won't miss it. If it was the Israeli army they would make time and insist that he talk with his parents. In some ways it is so different it's mind-boggling.

I can't think of any other big news. Lots and lots and lots of small news, but it's after eleven and I have to be out the door tomorrow for 8:15 - because Havva has a job and tomorrow is her first day and we are driving her there since we are going to Netivot anyway. She's going to be cataloguing the English language books at the Netivot public library. It's temporary, but that's perfect as she is leaving the country in two weeks. We have to go to the shuk to buy fruit and veg, and gifts for various people in the U.S.

I don't know if I mentioned here that both our dvd player and our vcr died at almost the same time. We replaced the dvd player, no problem, but have searched and searched and tonight we found a vcr. It's sort of like when cd's came in. Suddenly one day there were no lp's (vinyl records) or turntables anywhere. Like overnight. But anyway, we found one, and it looks like a good one. John and I bought it tonight. We went to a movie theatre for a night out, but there was absolutely NOTHING we wanted to watch.

I could natter on forever, but instead I'm going to try and get to sleep. G'night all.

I'm listening to the neighbour's puppy barking his fool head off (as he does every night). He's a very sweet puppy, by the way, and not shrill.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06