Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A long hard day - 2007-05-23

I'm grateful for: all of my wonderful, wonderful children; the goats, the house, the chickens, the dogs, the cats; cold potato soup for tomorrow.

I don't know what to write. I am wrung out emotionally, physically, pretty much just wrung out. After being up so late last night, John's alarm went off at about 6am today. I managed to doze a bit after that, but didn't really get back to sleep.

Simcha was still pretty sick, and spent the day lying on the sofa mostly, listening to Harry Potter on audio cassette, drinking, and feeling fairly miserable.

At some point in the early afternoon John announced that he was sick.

My sister phoned from the states. Instead of being in Newark picking up Havva and Zechy, she was still in Boston... She did call Chris, the other husband at Jessica's, who drove down to pick them up and brought them back to Jessica's, so they made it safely, thank goodness.

When my sister phoned she was hysterical, so instead of dealing with my feelings of my kids being left stranded at the airport, I got to devote 45 minutes to reassuring her that everything would be all right.

I don't blame her or anything - shit happens. Okay, it happens to her a lot. Still, the point is that I would rather have been able to cope with the fact that my kids were left at the airport, which was *far* more important to me than to be soothing and reassuring her, and worrying that they kids might be trying to call and not getting through because of me being on the phone with Diana. (They weren't)

Havva phoned from Jessica's at around four o'clock our time, and it sounded like everything was fine. Zechy was reading Sam's Cookie to one (or both) of my grandkids, Jessica got a phone call which meant I got to talk to her for a bit (because of the call waiting thing), and Zechy and I chatted for a while.

In and around all of this, I was doing laundry, trying to keep an ear out for when the washer went into the spin cycle so that I could open the manual drain - I missed it at least once, and also towards the end of the say was just too tired to sit over the machine while it spun, watching the bowl fill, and then emptying it out, so unfortunately the bowl overflowed covering the floor with soapy water.

Also I made potato soup (John helped with the chopping), moved the goats from the shed to the side of the house where I want them grazing, fed the chickens, got the goats back in the shed (John got them water and put the door back up), washed dishes, and cleaned up various places around the house. And folded clean laundry.

And that's what this is all about today. I really am too tired to be writing this entry, but I wanted to write down all that I did today. I don't get to boast in any other place. Most people wouldn't get that there is anything to boast of in that. John wouldn't have any enthusiasm for me doing all that stuff - if he even noticed which I doubt.

My arms are so tired they are shaking as I am typing this. I am covered with bruises and bug bites and my legs and hips and back hurt - and I didn't even mention how I spent some intense moments bawling my eyes out over missing Hans - I am dead tired and it is because I actually accomplished things today. A lot of things. Hard things.

I probably forgot a few even. Wow.

I'm glad that, even if John is sick, I can pretty much lay about tomorrow. All we have to do is let the goats out of the shed and make sure that they and to chickens have water. Thank goodness for holidays.

It's taken me almost an hour to write this. Enough. Good night.

I'm listening to Bullwinkle part II from the movie Pulp Fiction

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06