Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

After the fast - 2007-09-23

I'm grateful for: food and drink; doing the things I need to; not a lot of pain between my ears.

I survived another Yom Kippur. I didn't manage the whole fast, though. I suspect if I didn't have so many children, needing to get up with the 7yo before seven, being woken up from a much needed nap when the same 7yo got cut up at the playground (no coherent story behind that, at least that I heard), dealing with Simcha's sore throat and Zechy stepping on a sliver of glass ...

I really think holy days ought to include some kind of break from regular routine, instead of having to cope with all this stuff and not eat or drink besides. I suppose that is why I am not Gd. You think?

I had gotten this adorable jigsaw puzzle of a snow leopard cub which kept us happily occupied for a good chunk of the afternoon. All the kids davened (prayed) but some did more than others, obviously.

After we said havdalah, we had a 'feast,' which was pretty much whatever was handy to eat quickly. Yogurt drinks, pizza puffs, left overs. I forgot to have some fruit, which I really should have. It's shocking to the me that was, but I really have to work hard to eat more fruit. *sigh*

We watched an episode of Columbo, no where near as good as the pilot, but the kids still really enjoyed it.

I ended up on the phone with Megret. Well, ugh. I shouldn't say that, it was a reasonably conversation I suppose. Still, constantly being interrupted, the conversation being hijacked -- simply everything I brought up was somehow brought back around to her brother. Everything except the things which immediately led her to extol the virtues of her newly attentive husband. I don't mind her talking about them, I don't mind listening to it, I mind being interrupted such that I couldn't complete a thought, and I'd asked her specifically if I could talk about a thing or two that were bothering me.

Just proving that after all these years, I still refuse to learn.

A couple of difficult emails rounded off a generally miserable day. I know Yom Kippur is not supposed to be fun, but it's not supposed to be utterly miserable either. Which it wasn't - entirely.

Well, it's over. If there's anyone I should have apologized to and didn't, there's a generic I'm sorry I've flung out to the universe. Best I could do.

I need to try and sleep. Hope everyone's having a good weekend.

I'm listening to Carl Dawkins and the Wailers: Cloud Nine

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06