Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Long day - 2007-11-19

I'm grateful for: Knowing Hashem has plenty, more than enough; a goal; doing better. I think.

Today was long, and hard, and long. I don't know what time John left for work, but we knew in advance that he wouldn't be home at a normal time. He had to go to Tel Aviv and help someone with tech support in America. What happens when you are one of the only Americans on a team of computer consultants (is that the right word? I wonder...) Even if the fellow's English was good (and I have no idea) dealing with tech support is just a whole 'nother thing.

So John gets to prove his worth to the company one more time, and we managed to cope through a very long day. What made it hard really was that I am still in the 'not pushing myself after surgery' frame, and none of us was really up to dealing with Eliyahu today. Not that Eliyahu was a problem per se - but he wants to talk and wants us to be interested in his latest (for instance) game that combines elements of Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Star Wars and D&D, with mutant ninja wombats (I think), and a list of strange weapons and skills, and heavens, I can't remember any of it. Thankfully. I mean, I might even be interested if there were a point in remembering it, but by tomorrow it will a something entirely new comprised of bits of Pokemon, Dr. Seuss and the movie Silverado. Or something.

So we all worked on a jigsaw puzzle. Zechy worked on laundry. Simcha did most of the food preparation (soy-dogs for lunch, macaroni & cheese/tuna fish casserole for supper), both cleaned in the kitchen. Zechy was attacked by a cockroach in the kitchen. Actually it was probably dead, on top of the refrigerator, and fell down on him while he was doing something in the 'fridge.

In any event it was dead when he saw it on the floor, but he crushed it for good measure. And he was pretty well freaked out. *sigh* John wins kudos for being responsible and showing initiative, and the exterminator-type person is due here tomorrow at 2pm. They all use some kind of environmentally friendly, not poison to humans and pets spray here. I don't know if that is true in the states anywhere. When we moved here there were still plenty of the poison-sprayers doing a good business in the U.S., at least the parts I know. I don't know what this stuff is, and I don't know if it would even be effective in the U.S. (different climates, different bugs). But it surprized us when we first came here and our first experience with cockroaches and getting rid of them was this stuff, which seems to be used universally here.

It's even not terribly expensive. AND it's guaranteed for a year. I remember battling cockroaches in Chicago (granted, this is decades ago), and the thought of spraying once with this stuff that doesn't poison us in a year and then having no problems is pretty incredible. If I hadn't already seen it work, I'd never believe it.

I wonder if it will help keep slugs out? *sigh* One can dream.

I was sent a link to this absolutely wonderful site called 'Free Rice.' It has two goals - to help people improve their English vocabulary, and to help feed the hungry. It's fun, we've all been sucked into it.

Click here to go to Free Rice

Play it. For every right answer the sponsors donates 10 grains of rice. Play, increase your vocabulary, and feed the hungry all at once!

Yes, ten grains of rice isn't much, but it adds up awfully quickly. It's fun for the kids. They seem to have a good system for figuring out what level your vocabulary is on and giving you words just at the limits of it. There are fifty levels. I have to have some bragging rights for a moment here, I've made it to level 49. When I started playing (this morning) they had in the FAQs the information that no on had made it beyond level 48. So, either they've updated or that information is old. I see level 50 in reach. I am actually learning a few new (to me) words. Most of the harder words seem to be older and/or archaic. I don't mind.

I'm spacing out, at least. I am working on the sleep thing, and it seems hopeful. But I'd best get to it.

I'm listening to Alanis Morissette: Hands Clean

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06