Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

What the hell? - 2008-03-21

I'm grateful for: a good cleaning (teeth); getting through a mucky day; some time for being in pain and coping with flashbacks.

I'm not just behind reading diaryland friends and my email, I'm behind on the news. I even lost about a dozen articles when my browser locked up and didn't go find them again, figured it's just not worth the effort. It's a sad day that I can't manage to get my news fix 'cause I can't be bothered.

I was kept up last night by the company. I might have gotten to sleep at a semi-decent hour, but instead I was still up at, I think, 5:30am. What the hell? What it was was LS coming down the hall around 2am and wand'ring into my room, and staying chatting until 4am. I supposed I could've kicked her out, except clearly I couldn't. Talking to her was better than lying down and coping with grody flashbacks. So it's not her fault, but I think if she wasn't there I wouldn't have stayed up so late just to avoid looking at ugly past memories.

Today was an incredibly bad pain day. Really. THAT bad. When the time came to go to get my teeth cleaned I insisted that TH decide about whether or not I should take the valium. He voted in favour, and I suppose it helped. It's hard to think I could've hurt worse.

Not because of the cleaning though. The shenenit was wonderful (that's dental hygenist in Israel). Ad the oddest (good) thing happened. The cleaning turned out to be a counter- rather than an added-irritant. Meaning, that while she was cleaning my teeth, while it wasn't the most fun thing in the world, it took my mind off of the other pain. So that was pretty cool, actually. I don't know that I'd go for teeth-cleaning as a long-term pain-killer, though.

We (TH, S1 and I) went grocery shopping afterward. D3 was feeling good enough that she made hamentashen at home with LS while we were out. They also made shelach manot, so all that needs is that we get them to various houses on the moshav tomorrow. Which was great. The grocery shopping went well, too. More expensive because we had to go to the local grocery store rather than the cheap supermarket in Be'er Sheva, but it wasn't *too* bad.

Back home I crawled into bed and whimpered. Yeah, I was hurting full stop. But I managed to get up and dressed to go to shul tonight. S3 looked really great in his turtle outfit. The shell came out just great, a combined effort of D3, D2, TH and I. It's possible that others worked on it, but I didn't see/hear it if so. I took photos, but I wasn't in good shape, and didn't really pay enough attention to know if they turned out okay.

The megillah reading was really nasty. Sad, but true. There were younger men, and older boys, setting off firecrackers in the sanctuary and right outside the shul, and it just wasn't good fun. One of the boys actually threw a lit firecracker at another boy. Some of the little kids (toddlers) were crying, and the men, grown men, in one case the father, refused to stop with the firecrackers, insisting it was all in good fun, and that's what Purim is for. It was not good.

We were okay. We stayed for the whole megillah reading, but not another moment longer. LS's son Roo was really freaked out and getting wilder and wilder from the crackers. I don't know why she didn't just take him back to our place as soon as it was clear he wasn't coping. He's an 8yo with PTSD. D3 was really tired and hurting and S3 was tired, hungry and miserable. Anyway, we walked home (I rode in the wheelchair) and Roo screamed at intervals, which was really good, he was getting the stress and 'can't cope' out in a safe way. By the time we got home he was almost ready to settle down and eat, and we all dove into the yummy oznei-haman (hamantaschen) that D3 and LS had baked. Serious yum. We had all sorts of fillings - Apricot, strawberry, cherry, pomegranite-raspberry, cranberry-blueberry, and at least one other I can't remember. Really, really good.

LS and Roo cleared out around 10pm. Then S2 and D2 hung around in my room chatting for some time. I succeeded in sending them all off a bit after midnight. It's 2am now and I am tired beyond words.

***

And now it's later and I'm slightly more awake. *sigh* I heard something at the next-door neighbour's. He's away for the night and asked us to keep an eye on his place, and his horse. So I got up and didn't see anything. As soon as I had settled back down, a dog started barking there. It appears to have been nothing more than a loose dog, and the horse was looking fine. And now I'm full of adrenaline. I got TH up to check on things as well.

Well, I am that tired that I'm not going to finish reading my news reports, and that is a sad thing. There were some kassam rockets fired this way, but so far as I can tell nothing was hit. A bus (normal intercity bus, think greyhound or trailways) was fired on, no one was injured thank goodness. A 15yo minister's son was seriously injured by a bomb sent through the mail to his father. Those poor, discriminated-against people don't care of Xtians any more than they care for Jews. Absolutely no memorable news from outside the country, which means it's an extremely slows newsday, or I managed to miss anything interesting.

I remember I read yesterday about Arthur C. Clarke dying. Wow. I read so much of his science fiction. I remember Childhood's End so clearly, but Tales From the White Hart was unquestionably my favourite. I just like tavern stories of whatever sort.

Oy, D2 has grown up so beautiful it's scary. Just for the record.

I'm listening to Infected Mushroom: Yanko Pitch

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06