Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Yom Hamishi - 2008-04-18

I'm grateful for: my laptop; being active (even if it hurts); being almost ready for Pesach.

I've got my laptop back. Only temporarily, as there is now no dvd burner in it. They said they had none in stock, and there wouldn't be any until after Pesach. I simply could not wait more than a week for even a hope of my laptop, so we took it home, and will have to bring it back when they have the burner in.

I'm leaving out all the fun stuff, like how they dropped the computer at some point, 'cause there was damage to the corner that wasn't there when we brought it in. And then they tried to claim that it wasn't covered under warranty because it had been dropped. About D2 taking a long, difficult bus trip up to Rosh HaAyin to pick it up because they weren't going to be there tomorrow, and then I ended up driving up to Petakh Tikvah to pick up D2, and ended up picking up S1 and D as well.

And the many, many, many phone calls back and forth, not to mention several extra trips to Rosh HaAyin, that -- oh, stop it! I've got my laptop back. At least for now. I could put the back of my bed up if I wanted to, and be supported while I typed on a keyboard that isn't too high for me when I am in bed. So, it's all cool in the long run. It costs us nothing other than the expense and bother of phone calls and trips. I'm not going to argue.

So D2 and S1 and D are here, which you'd think would be a full house, but we still have D's mother and sister and David and Leora, neighbours on the moshav, who're coming for the seder. Leora is coming over tomorrow to cook. I really can't, and I totally appreciated her being willing to come and cook here, 'cause they don't keep kosher, and I don't know how they clean for Pesach. On my dishes and in my pots and pans I know what's pareve, what's meat and dairy, and I can make sure that nothing that shouldn't be gets in.

I also haven't mentioned getting up way early for me today, to drive into Netivot to meet with a soldier, whom we gave all of our available extra money to and then some, plus got a list of what the soldiers in his unit need which, hopefully, TH's boss will get the company to help out with. And shopping in the old shuk, and at two or three separate grocery stores, one of which is a totally gigantic supermarket. And going to a toy store to buy D birthday presents, because his birthday was yesterday which no one had bothered to tell us ('us' in this context includes S1 who's job is caring for D while his mother works and older sister are at school).

Yesterday was seriously just as full, and I got on the exercise bike anyway. Tonight I didn't, but I had walked for miles, and had plenty of activity this week. My feet hurt so bad you just don't want to know. No noticeable weight loss or change of shape or anything hopeful like that yet, so it's lots of pain for no seeable result. Undoubtedly my heart is healthier and all that sort of good stuff, though. My poor feet. If you could see me walking... ;-7

I've got to get some sleep. I am SO VERY tired. Tomorrow is cooking with Leora (Hashem help me) and then I am going to just totally crash. For days if possible. Feeling just a little bit sorry for myself, but I'm going to solve that at least for the moment by being asleep.

I've missed writing so many things, which means they are probably lost forever, 'cause I have absolutely NO memory. It's scare sometimes. Driving up to pick up D2 and realizing I have absolutely no clue how to get to her house, or even her neighbourhood, despite having driven there quite recently - and I used to always remember things like that. And numbers.

But, I really do need to sleep, not to bemoan the loss of things I'd already lost and moaned about before.

I'm listening to Dick Dale & His Del-Tones: Misirlou

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06