Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Late, later - 2008-05-18

I'm grateful for: everyone leaving and the house being quiet tomorrow; butter mints; meeting good people.

I can't really believe I'm writing anything. It's so late and I am so tired. It's been a really full week, a full house, I can't finish the sentence.

We have more chicks. We have a lot of chicks. I have no idea how many chicks the black hen has hatched out, but I'm guessing around a half dozen. They are so very cute. One of them had some trouble getting out of the shell - not worth the whole explanation, but we decided to help and S1 got the egg away from the black hen, and broke away some bits of the shell. I'm waiting to see tomorrow if the chick survived the night. I am really hoping.

We had company - a family of Xtians from Canada who are staying in East Jerusalem while the husband is doing something with geothermal energy for an arab who owns some resorts in Egypt. It's just pretty complicated I guess. The mom and I have a remarkable amount in common, it's kind of scary in a way. There are three kids, all home-schooled. A 13yo girl who is now friends with D3, a 7yo son who is now friends with S3, and an 8yo daughter who went back and forth between the two pairs and got along fine with both of them. I'm sorry there aren't any girls her age here, but it all worked out.

It was S1's birthday today. I don't know if I wrote it earlier but his paycheck bounced. We found that out on Friday. Tonight, the woman he works for told him that she would have cash for him late tomorrow night, but that he wasn't going to be working for her anymore. Which is just fine with me - she's a bad boss, with no boundaries and, well, I don't need to get into it here. But talk about a sucky way to handle it. She also claims that as he didn't work for her a whole month, he should now work for her without pay...

It's infuriating. Yes, he was here for all of Pesach. He was here for al of Pesach WITH HER SON! What, he's not working if he's watching the son at his parents house but is if he's watching the son at her house? Bullsh*t. *sigh* I just have to keep breathing and in a week none of my children will work for her and in fact we will not have to have anything to do with her. Hashem willing. I am sorry for both her son and her daughter, and don't want to abandon them, but I have my hands full with my own children, not to mention everything else going on here. Poor kids.

One of the other American families on the moshav dissolved this weekend. It got really ugly, with police called, and a social worker showing up. So far it's been good, as the husband took the kids away (with the social worker's blessing), and the wife is left here to cope with her own messes - all of which she made. Unfortunately it seems she is hell-bent on furthering the mess - and has, as far as I know, gone to the police to swear out a complaint against the husband for assault (he never touched her). She seems to think they will put him in jail - I don't know if that is likely or even possible, but of course it is a worry because then what happens to the kids? They absolutely don't want to live with her for many very good reasons. So TH offered that we would take them if that were to happen. Honestly I am praying it never get there, but these two boys would certainly be better off here with us than in foster care with people they don't know and possibly in different schools and so on.

I've left huge amounts of information out, and as I said it's late, so if what I wrote doesn't make sense, please trust that it really does make a kind of sense if you know the whole story, and I am just not writing it here.

I also don't know if I wrote that S2 passed his driving test, and will be getting his license in a very short time. Yeaaaaa!!!!

TH is coming home early from work tomorrow to go to a bris. Of course it's wonderfully exciting, I wish it were possible for me to go, but I doubt of my being able to function at all tomorrow, even to go outside and see the chicks.

There is more, so much more, but I really have to try and get some sleep. It's almost 3:30am. *sigh*

I'm listening to Starvin' Marvin: Rude Funk

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06