Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Another day, another three sick children - 2009-01-06

Oh, man, crazy, crazy day. I didn't wake up until late - no, that's not true. I didn't *get* up until very late. I lay in bed having grody flashbacks. But I was awake.

Really intense grody flashbacks. Hard, yucky. Probably good for me, but I'm not clear yet. It hurts.

When I did get up, it was in part because I got a phonecall from D2, who is apparently very sick. She was home and supposed to be pampering herself, but instead went out shopping to buy healthy food.

What did I do but immediately decide (I hadn't made it out of bed and it was past 2pm) that I was going to make her some soup and bring it to her up in Petakh Tikvah. Oy. D3 is also sick, and she and D2 don't like soup made the same way at all. So I ended up making two pots of soup - one for D2 which is relatively bland and containing potatoes, tomatoes, peppers and onions (the only vegetables she likes in a soup) and one rather spicier for D3 that also had shallots and leeks and radishes and celery. The vegetable supplies are rather low here at the zoo because the shuks are all closed for the duration.

The weather was lovely, the sky was bright and the ground was dry so I suggested we have a bit of a fire in the backyard and burn the accumulated paper and cardboard. The offspring agreed enthusiastically and the prepared the fire ring and S1 started a fire. He was sad and acting depressed because it took him TWO matches. Snicker.

They had a good time, I joined them briefly but couldn't stay because TH and I had to get up to Petakh Tikvah. TH put it in a pitcher and wrapped it up to keep it warm and upright. We headed out and drove for what seemed like ever (it is a long drive, even if it doesn't compare to driving around Vermont, not to mention the rest of the U.S.). The soup was still somewhat warm when we got it to D2. She didn't *look* terribly sick, which I hope is a good sign. Her - I don't know what to call her, she's not a dr., she does Chinese medicine and accupuncture - healer? medical care person? was taking her condition very seriously.

It was really delightful seeing D2. It's been a while, since before the current shooting war started. We chatted quite a bit, and I found out some things we could get for her to make her life easier or better. A timer for the heater for instance, and an electrical extension cord with an off switch. TH juiced some lemons for her, we chatted some about her school and her work and her long-term plans and about people on the moshav and eventually I tore myself away and we went shopping.

I got a chair for my room, a secretaries chair with good back support and on wheels. It's small enough not to seriously cramp my room and the wheels make it much more functional for people who want to sit and talk. Also picked up some more dual-layer dvd disks (on sale for half price!), and went a bit crazy at a grocery store as well. Good food we can't usually get, like roast beef and fish fingers. Okay, not necessarily GOOD food as in good for you, but things we might like to have around the house but can rarely get.

We also bought D2 some juice and some treats, and headed back to her apartment with the things we'd picked up for her. We didn't stay, I didn't even get out of the car because if I had it would have been too late - or rather, too later.

TH and I looked for something for me to eat, since I didn't eat anything since breakfast and tomorrow is a fast day. We stopped by a Domino's pizza place. I haven't had Domino's pizza since before we moved to Israel, and I never really liked it in the states. Still, at 11pm I was willing to give it a try. Not 26shekel willing however. Yikes! I might pay that much for pizza meter, but that's about it.

We went to a McD's that was supposedly open until eleven, but when we got there at 10:55 they had already closed everything down. Slow night I guess. None of the falafel or shawarma places were open at all - Monday nights are a slow night here. So we headed for home and I ended up having one of those dreadful tuna sandwiches you can get in plastic at the highway rest area. They taste exactly the same here as they did back in the U.S. *sigh*

At least I was able to get a Ben & Jerry's ice cream bar. Which wiped out any savings I might have had compared to the Domino's pizza, but I'd rather have the B&J myself.

Back home the kids had stayed up to help unload the car (wonderful kids), and went to bed almost immediately. The kitchen is an unholy disaster. I didn't clean up from making the two soups, and no one else did, either.

I had to call a friend of mine in Canada, who was planning on visiting Israel and visiting us on January 15, to discuss what we might do. We're still in a closed military zone, which makes visiting a mite difficult. We had a nice chat, and after getting off the phone with her I was reminded of another phone call I had to make. I phoned MMF.

It was far and away the most sane conversation I've had with her in months. Possibly years. We talked about the war situation and politics (two topics of conversation I can't keep her away from) and grody flashbacks and health problems and, well, all sorts of things. In the middle of it S2, who had been feeling sick and queasy, threw up all over himself and the bed everything he'd eaten since about 8pm (six hours before). I got him cleaned up, and he took a shower while I took the sheets off the bed and cleaned the floor and all that. He put a bottom sheet on the bed (something I can't do) and I tucked him in giving him my thermal blanket and duvet cover for extra layers. He said he felt better after all of that. Thank goodness!

But I was a complete basket case and after rinsing out the sheet and the rags I'd used to clean things up, I came back to bed and hurt and moaned at MMF. Something she is VERY good for, since she is also chronically ill and in chronic pain. She understands and there is no need for self-consciousness if I moan or yell or cry or whatever. That is one reason we are still friends. That and the occasional really good conversation.

So we talked some more while my back settled down and I got myself into bed and relaxed. She took her night-time pills and is asleep now, in Michigan, while I am still awake here at 4:30am. *sigh*

Only one tzevah adom in our neighbourhood today, which is good. The booms are still coming, but not quite so many and not quite so strong overall. I am daring to hope things might be winding down, but not too loudly.

Tomorrow is a fast day. I'll probably be doing a liquid fast, since I didn't really eat enough today. I'll see how I feel when I wake up, and if I don't wake up until very late tomorrow, then it won't be much of a problem (it's a sunrise to sunset fast).

I should probably say - this is the day in history, on the Jewish calendar, that King Nebuchadnezzer (sp?) laid siege to Jerusalem. It's also a day set aside for saying kaddish for people who's date of death is unknown. A minor fast.

I'm going to try to get some sleep now. Please Hashem. I wish I was more tired. No, sleepy. The word I want is sleepy. Tired I am.

Be well and Gd bless, all.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06