Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

A quiet moment - 2009-01-18

I'm grateful for: RS planning on moving here; new light fiction; having money left over from last week - how did that happen?

Hopefully real quick and short. It's before 2am and I am going to do some laundry and then read. I've given up on *trying* to get to sleep. Hopefully I'll find myself dropping off, but, if not, at least the time isn't wasted.

I'm *really* sick. I stand up and get dizzy and my head aches. I sit or lie down and feel like crap, and occasionally cope with bursts of nausea and/or diarrhea. Fun for the whole family.

So, a few things. It rained tonight. There was going to be a football (soccer) game for the first time since the war started, and TH was just heading out the door when the skies opened and the heavens fell. I don't know how to describe it and I have tried. If you live in most parts of the United States you certainly can't imagine how it rains here. How hard, how fast, how quickly it is over. We've had two 'normal' (that is, normal to me from New England) thunderstorms in the four and a half years I've been here. Rather, its as if someone turned on a massive tap, full on, and it just pours from the sky. It was short but pleasant. Blessed, even. The water was quite cold (I got soaked just stepping out the door), and TH didn't get his game. Too bad.

D2 phoned me quite upset around 7:30pm because it had been announced that a beit knesset (meeting house, where we pray), was hit by a rocket in our area. She said she'd figured that I"d have called if it was us, but still... It wasn't us. And when I tried to find any news of it, I couldn't. One of the small moshavim near us, near Netivot, was hit. Fortunately everyone had just stepped out for a break when the rocket hit so there were no injuries. Our enemies just don't seem to have much luck that way. Barukh Hashem.

An exerpt from a news report: Ten civilians suffering wounds from rocket attacks on the city remain in the hospital [and twelve soldiers]. Among them is seven-year-old 0rel Elaz@rov, who is in critical condition after being struck by shrapnel in an attack on Thursday. -- which means he survived the surgery. Thanks for your prayers, seriously. He's not out of the woods yet, but we *do* have some of the best medical care around, so there's good hope.

What else? I finished Ben Gurion In His Own Words, a biography that was mostly exerpts from things he said and wrote. It was interesting, but midway through the book I kind of forgot that it was about learning more about the man, and found myself treating the quotes as if they were debating points in my head. Partly through being sick, I'm sure. Now I'm reading some complete fluff, a Glen Cook book Cruel Zinc Melodies. Lots of fun, no thought required. A good break.

It was quiet for a while. We have our stupid, stupid, stupid gub'ment intending to stop fighting, with nothing achieved (the rockets are still falling on us, Gil@d Sh@lit is still captive, Hamas has agreed to nothing), and for why? While representatives of a bunch of European gub'ments are on their way here to try and pressure Israel to open ALL the crossings (one isn't enough?) while Egypt is keeping her one crossing safely closed, thank you very much, and remind me why are we doing this? Oh, yeah, because Olmert wanted to go out with a bang and it seems likely to improve the chances of his party in the up-coming elections. It certainly had nothing to do with protecting the people of this country. I am so mad I could spit.

Mad meaning angry. You know.

Someone put forward an idea that i really like. It'll never happen. It was suggested (here in Israel, of course) that what's-'is-face, that UN guy, B@n Ki Muun should come and spend a week in Sderot. Not enough amenities, try Ashkelon. Really. Come live here for a while before you start flapping your gums.

But, anyway. I was in a fairly good mental state before all of that. *sigh*

I did talk to RS tonight, and a bit with FB. I was too sick to really appreciate it much, and besides FB managed to really piss me off. He's good at that. I couldn't get RS off the phone, and I was feeling so weak. Sick. Ugh.

TH is off to work tomorrow. S2 is as sick or even sicker than I am. So I am trying to get as much laundry done as I can tonight, so tomorrow D3 and S1 can concentrate on dishes, cooking, and taking care of the healthy 9yo and the sick 18yo. I will most likely be pretty useless. *sigh* NOT what I'd planned for when I was having all these kids.

But anyway. I'm going to stop and do some of that other stuff. The booms are pretty loud overall but just at this moment it is quiet.

I'm listening to the lull


0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06