Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Surprizing - 2009-01-30

I'm grateful for: feeling better with a little help from a needle; cheesecake, even if it's not 'real' cheesecake; a short visit with D2.

I'm going for short and sweet tonight. Wish me luck.

I woke up after way too little sleep, but I managed to eat breakfast, get dressed, and stagger out of the house only about 1/2 hour later than I should have. TH and I went to Netivot specifically to get matzoh and cream cheese for S1, who's been under the weather, and the matzoh, is gone. ALL gone. Which means no more matzoh until Pesach (Passover). *sigh* It's a hard world sometimes.

Drove from there to Tel Aviv. I fell asleep a little bit in the car, but mostly spend the time deep in a grody flashback. That part is really no fun, but sometimes entirely necessary. This one was ... difficult. But as TH thought i was asleep, at least it wasn't interrupted by needing to cope with conversations, or children needing something, or animal problems...

Arrived at the school because we'd gotten there too late to go to the shuk. TH was full of energy, so I told him to run around the block, which he did. Then when he came back he was still almost shaking with extra energy so I suggested he wander around some. We had a few minutes before my appointment time.

When he came back the second time I had to get out of the car and take the exciting wheel-chair ride up to the clinic. Many buildings in Israel seem to think that they are handicapped accessible because someone put in a concrete ramp. Sometimes the concrete ramp actually goes up to the door. This one kind of meets the doorway halfway. It is a challenging bit of driving. Fortunately TH was up to the challenge today.

The meeting the acupuncturist was interesting. And long. He only put one needle, in my head. I told TH after it was placed "I'm a unicorn" and the acupuncturist agreed. Funny. It is definitely having an affect. I can't tell what. He asked me today if I feel connected, and I couldn't answer that. Too confusing, especially along with the grody flashback. I mentioned that was going on, and we chatted about it, agreed it was probably a healing thing. He is a curious person, very unlike anyone else I've been able to see. But then, I pay about ten times as much to see him, so I suppose it makes sense.

Afterward I felt kind of sunny and swimmy. We tracked down D2 and got her out of class and visited with her for a bit. We couldn't keep her long as there was a review of muscles and a test coming up, but it was hard to go. I don't feel like I see her anywhere near enough. Of course, I know that her bf feels the same way. And I know which of us ranks higher in her mind. That's how it's supposed to be, though, so I live with it.

We made a very quick stop at the shuk for cookies and a slice of cheese cake, and ended up picking up some tangerines (I hope) and bananas as well. I hope they were tangerines, but they will likely turn out to be clementines, which is what you get almost all the time here. I just have a real love of tangerines, me.

The drive home, I stayed awake mostly. We got home terribly late, and I decided to go feed the birds right away, because I certainly wasn't going to make it BACK outside. The hen in the small lul was already settled for the night. I only saw five chicks with her, which worries me, I watched for a good long time, too. But it is quite possible there were more and they just took turns being hidden.

In the larger lul the two chicks there are strong, healthy and still adorable. The formerly black one now has a white chest and a white spot on it's head. It's amazing how fast they can change like that. The flock is settling down nicely with less roosters. We will probably want to get rid of one or two more, but it depends on how badly off the chick numbers are. Ideally, or rather theoretically, they should end up 50/50, but somehow you always end up with more roosters than you expected. At least by the time the roosters are giving you trouble, they aren't cute anymore. That is a help.

We watched Overboard tonight, Goldie Hawn and Kurt Russell. A fun movie, and just right with two children too sick to do anything but lie there and moan. I *think* D3 is getting better, but I am very worried. I can't wait for the anti-biotics to run out so we can see if what she's dealing with now is secondary symptoms from the anti-biotic, or if it's something worse. S1 is feeling better, though. Thank goodness.

And that's about it. I've been reading Nick Hornby's Slam. I didn't like it to start. Then I read a bunch of reviews that really put me off it, and I was thinking about not even trying to finish it. Then I picked it up again and read about ten more pages and I was hooked. I'm almost finished with it now, and while I'd be lying to say I 'enjoyed' it precisely, it is a good read and very satisfying in it's way.

It is actually a smidge before midnight, so I am going to try and really surprize myself and the fates and get to sleep while it is still Friday.

I'm listening to the animals snuffling, scratching and fussing. I hope they settle down soon.

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06