Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

More blather - 2009-04-29

I'm grateful for: the rush being almost over; a wonderful life, truly; lots of wonderful new books.

Argh. Argh, argh, argh, argh. And again, argh. It's almost midnight. Not terribly late as my life usually goes, but I have to be up at 6:30am. I did try to get to bed an hour ago, but D3 and Kitten and TH all had something to say or do, and when I'd finally cleared them out of my room, well, I needed to take a few to settle down. So I read a few diaries. Hi, buddies!

I wish I'd the time to write individually. I find much that is interesting and deserving of a response in my online friend's lives, but tonight I really haven't the time. I'm such an important, busy person. ...

Tomorrow I am going up north (to the centre) with TH, S2 and S3. TH is going to work, where he is in high demand. S3 is going to play with his friend in Bareqet, where he is also in high demand. Then S2 and I are going to shop until we drop.

I have no other possible time to do grocery shopping, and we must eat. Also, it turns out we still need to get three things for S2 for his army gear. Nothing that is life-or-death important, but some loose exercise pants for - well, you can figure that out. And a towel. Likewise rather obvious. They are given a towel by the army, but, well, it's just a pain. And you have to return the same towel three years later, or get in trouble. Best solution? Bring your own towel, take the one they hand you and pack it in a box for the three years. Crazy. The other thing is some sort of energy bar. Well, a box or two of some sort of energy bar. You know, in the U.S. this would all be silly. No need to fret about picking up things like that, you can wait 'til the last minute (almost) and get what you need at Wally-world. Right? And that is assuming that you can't just count on the stuff you get from the army. Well, not here. S2 will be bringing his dirty laundry home on weekends. He'll be supplementing the food with whatever he can bring from home that works for him (D2 used to bring jars of peanut butter). He'll be relying on us to pick him up and drop him off whenever possible, we gave him a phone and will pay the bill. He has to have his own backpack, duffle, locks, and it doesn't hurt if he can bring a good compass. They will provide him with boots, but he'll want to go out and buy a pair that he can actually live with. The girls, they don't even provide a single pair. You just have to buy them army boots or shoes beforehand.

Here, family is so important, that people would be upset if the army tried to provide things that people think you should get from your family. If someone comes from a family too poor to provide, or has no family, then there are organizations that exist to take care of her or him. Some people complain that it extends young people's adolescence. I'm glad, because it means he's not going away so far, and he will come home on weekends (some weekends). I'm glad because it extends the time that he lives with us - sort of. I'm still missing him already.

I don't know what I will do when S1 also goes away. I just don't know. I expect I'll sleep more for one thing. That isn't such a bad thing, either. But we are in no way able to take care of the four dogs, three cats, assorted goats and all the chickens with just TH, D3, S3 and I. Something is going to have to give. Whatever I end up doing, I will get hell for it. But, there it is. Life is hard sometimes, and sometimes you can't have everything.

Today was full and more full, although we didn't actually do that much. We got up, drove to where the homeschooling group was having it's picnic, stayed there for a few hours and came home. Kitten went with us to the picnic and had a terrific time. She's never had the chance to pounce on a blade of grass before, or get into a fight with a flower stalk. She took to it like it came naturally. ;-) She also kept a careful eye on me, and made sure she didn't lose me, coming back to climb my legs at regular intervals. She is very, very sweet.

For the most part people were delighted to see her, but three people came up and asked me incredulously - 'why did you bring the kitten?' None of them had been at the megillah reading where we found each other, and I explained that there were people who would want to see her. I don't get it, though, why should it be such a deal that I brought a kitten? Well, never mind.

It was nice visiting with so many people. I got to talk to people I haven't seen since last year's picnic, and chat with friends, and all of that. Still, I was tired and it was hard. I was actually grateful when S3 burned his foot on a bit of charcoal (nothing serious, thank goodness), because that plus D3's having an allergic reaction to one of the plants allowed us to leave quickly. It just wasn't fun enough for the amount of tired and work.

We came home and climbed into bed. Kitten and I in here, TH in his room, S3 in his. D3 I think also took a nap. S2, meanwhile, had stayed home and done all the laundry and studied Hebrew. What a wonderful kid! Young man, excuse me. Adult son. Something like that.

Anyway, I am again using way too many words for a bunch of not very significant stuff, and still not managing to say what I want to precisely. Someday I'll get some sleep and then I'll work on it.

In the meantime, be well, all, and Gd bless.

I'm listening to Synergia: Darkness

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06