Botticelli me thumbnail
- Profile -+- Notes -+-Archives-+- E-Mail -+-Diaryland-+- Fotolog -+- Latest -

Honey is Sweet

Not much happening - 2009-08-04

I'm grateful for: the hope of an air conditioner; a bonus which pays for those less vitally necessary necessities; a good life, even if it can be hard to appreciate at over 100F.

I haven't much to say despite days passing by. S2 is at his new base, and having a hard time. It's not as bad as the first time, but he's being treated like it's the first time (a lot of the soldiers in his pluga - can't think of the English are native Israeli and just go straight into combat training), so it's rough. Doing okay, it's just rough. He likes his new base it seems. It's way down south, and when I asked him what colour the desert is he said it's white. I want to go down there now, I haven't yet seen a white desert. Tan, yes, grey, yes, brown, yes, yellow, yes, red, yes, but not white.

Someday...

D2 has started her new job, and I'd guess it's working out okay. She hadn't anything to say about it, which is actually a good sign. Imas are for complaining to, don'tchaknow?

The heat is killing me. I don't know why I am feeling it so much, but there it is. So today TH and I went to Be'er Sheva and bought, as in paid for, a mazgan, that's a heating/air conditioning unit, for my room. Now we get to wait for it to show up.

After waiting almost two months for the oven - which is finally here, installed, and everyone loves it btw - we don't really have a lot of faith in the mazgan showing up when they said (Thursday). But, I will continue to hope.

We also bought for TH new glasses, that he can use to see the computer screen when he is working. He's always been blind-as-a-bat, but it's reached the point that he needs three different pairs of glasses just to function. Thank you Hashem that my eyes are not that bad!

That just about killed the bonus he got this month. His employer isn't giving any raises this year, instead they are handing out bonuses and hoping that will keep everyone happy. I think they are counting on fear of the job market keeping most people from jumping ship. What can I say, it wasn't THAT big a bonus.

I am sure *something* must have happened in the last few days, but I can't think what. We went by b'tuach leumi, that's the social security offices to try to get proof of income for another try at a mortgage, but the office was closed. It left us scratching our heads until I remembered that they were on strike.

We finished re-reading The Voyage of the Dawn Treader with S3 tonight. Still a favourite, as are all the Narnias. The books, I mean. I'm still working my way through The Collected Short Stories of Saki, which is really a lot of fun, but not a quick read, as you sort of pause after each story and then have to start over again for the next one. And I am reading The Assistant by Bernard Malamud. I am really liking it, I got sucked right in and am enjoying the characters and the story, and cannot wait to find out what happens next.

We watched Bend It Like Beckham for our Friday night movie, none of us had seen it before, or really knew what to expect. It was a lot of fun, and now I have to watch it again to hear all the lines that I missed due to S3 talking non-stop through the movie.

He talked at me non-stop this morning as well, seriously non-stop, including while I was on the phone with S2. If TH hadn't come home in the nick of time my head would've exploded, I think.

What else - I'm still watching episodes of Joan of Arcadia with D3. They are still mostly enjoyable, but I suspect the series stopped at a good point doing only two seasons. Maybe I'm wrong, but I imagine that after a while it will get rather tiring. We shall see.

And - I got more photos up on my fotolog, including grandkids. Yeaaa! There's one of me, too, taken by GD1, so it's not exactly my best shot. It's not so bad, either. She's actually quite good with the camera, I think.

And that is totally enough from me. I'm up after 1am, which I really would prefer not to be. If I *can* fall asleep in this dreadful heat, I will be happier by far. Only another month or two ... *sigh*

I'm listening to the fan, and the dog huffing (why? I have no idea).

0 bleats so far

:: Yesterdays : Tomorrows ::

~~~Last Five Entries~~~
Hi and goodbye - 2010-10-15
I'll be moving on - 2010-10-10
Gold membership and stuff - 2010-10-10
Decisions, decisions - 2010-10-07
Days to go - 2010-10-06